Link to a file or folder from an Access Form (1 Viewer)

worldcert

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:46
Hi Di Hi

I am new to Microsoft Access and have a little problem. I have searched the forum and nearly found the fix but I didnt quite understand what to do, so im creating a new thread.

I have a Access Database and have a client page that stores all the information about that client. We produce reports (scanned word/pdf) for each client and we store the report files in a client folder using the Client ID taken from Access.

My question is can I somehow produce a link from the Client Form in Access to the Client Folder or Files in explorer. I have seen the Hyperlink option but that is only availabe in Design View.

Hope someone can help. Thanks in advance,.

ScottGem

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:46
Can you explain more about what you want this link to do?

worldcert

Registered User.
Local time
Basically if a client ID is 9500 on Access then I will have a folder on the computer like c:\WCS\Clients\9500

I would like a link on the Access Form for client 9500 to either open a file in the client folder or open the folder to browse all the files.

Cheers

Last edited:

Hayley Baxter

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:46
The following code will open the folder of your choice in Explorer

Code:
Private Sub cmdExplore_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_cmdExplore_Click

Dim stAppName As String

stAppName = "C:\WINNT\explorer.exe c:\MyFolder"
Call Shell(stAppName, 1)

Exit_cmdExplore_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_cmdExplore_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_cmdExplore_Click

End Sub

Alternatively you can create a field in your table to hold the path of the filename you want it to link to. As long as this field is present on your form, you will be able to select the link to take you to the document directly.

Hay

ScottGem

Registered User.
Local time