Need Help on Filtering records using Combo or List Box (1 Viewer)

G

goldbaker

Hi, I need help on my search command. I am hoping to be able to use a combo box or a list box coming from a table as my criteria to use to filter records from a form and present it a subform/subreport upon clicking the command button. Ideally I should have a form wherein I will have a either a combo box or list box for my criteria, a subform/subreport, and a command button. When I select a particular item on the combo box or list box and I click the command button, the subform/subreport would show me records matching only the particular criteria I selected.

I tried using several approach but it's not working, I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Please help me, I am just learning how to do this all by myself.

First Approach:
I tried using a list box to list all the countries I have available from the country table and a command button so when I select a country from the list box and click on the command button I will be able to show on a datasheet view only records matching the country criteria.
This is the code I used:

DoCmd.OpenForm "qrysumcountry subform", , "Country", "Country = [List4]"

End Sub
But everytime I click on the command button Preview, I am always asked to enter parmeter value then when I type the country that's when it shows the record in forms format matching the criteria country but when I dont type anything and click ok, it just shows a blank form and indicates it's filtered but no record is showing. But I click cancel, it shows a Run-time error '2501'. why does it still have to make me type the parameter if I have selected it on the list box already?

Second Approach: