Transferring form data to table? (1 Viewer)

Robert88

Robbie
Local time
Today, 09:16
Hi All,

I need help getting data from a group of unbound fields on a form to a table.

Is this possible? Hopefully with VBA.

Example of fields on form - frmLabel1Data

txtClientName
txtProjectNumber
txtTypeofMedia
txtPath1Files
txtFile1NameFrom

Example of fields in table - tblCDLabels

ClientName
ProjectNumber
TypeofMedia
Path1Files
File1NameFrom

As I am only new to this VBA any help will be appreciated.

Robert88

pono1

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 16:16
Robert,

Roughly, the syntax is along these lines...

Code:
DoCmd.RunSQL _
"INSERT INTO TblCDLABELs (ClientName, ProjectNumber,Etc)
VALUES(txtClientName,txtProjectNumber, txtEtc)"
One catch: Access VBA is very touchy when it comes to specifying strings and numbers with quotes and apostrophes in SQL statements, so search the forum for examples. Also, search on Insert Into Statement and Append Query in the Access Help file for even more examples.

For starters, try to insert just one field, then, once that's working, continue to build up your SQL string piece by piece...

Regards,
Tim

Robert88

Robbie
Local time
Hi Tim,

Thank you, very much appreciated.:D

If I have any problems I will let you know but shouldn't with this example.

Robert88

Robert88

Robbie
Local time
Hi All,

I have realised that;

Code:
DoCmd.RunSQL _
"INSERT INTO TblCDLABELs (ClientName, ProjectNumber,Etc)
VALUES(txtClientName,txtProjectNumber, txtEtc)"

is not a good solution as I am trying to place this into a table whereby I have an additional field on the form txtLabelNumber and also have a field in the table fldLabelNumber, whereby the table has six records and I need to populate the relevant recordset WHERE fldLabelNumber = txtLabelNumber.

Rather than append the information, what SQL should be used as I tried it with a WHERE statement on the end of the code above but it did not work.:confused: