Order management system (1 Viewer)

garywood84

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:46
I have little experience using Microsoft Access, but am attempting to create an order management system.

I have designed a system to store customer details and allow the entry of orders. I now want to develop this so that the system can handle delivery notes.

There are currently two tables for order information, since each order can consist of multiple items. So, general information, like the order date, order number and salesperson are stored in an orders table. A second table, Order Detail lists the items and item specific information along with the order number of which they are a part.

A whole order (i.e. all items assigned to one order number) may be delivered at once, or in smaller consignments. However, every consignment must have a delivery note with a unique number. So, there may be several delivery note numbers associated with each order, relating to different shipments.

I therefore need to create a system which allows the user to select which items from an order are being dispatched and then get Access to do the following:

• Create a new record in the delivery notes table. The delivery note number will therefore be created (it's an autonumber). The user should be prompted to enter the delivery date and this should be stored in the date column of the delivery notes table, alongside the delivery note number.
  • Enter the delivery note number in the "Delivery Note Number" field of the Order Details table, for every item that the user selected as dispatching.
Once this is in place, I will then be able to pull all the required details together with a query and then print the delivery note.

Bearing in mind that I'm very new to Access and so don't have any knowledge of scripts/macros etc, can anyone tell me how I can achieve this?

Many thanks in advance,

Gary

elbweb

Self Taught Hero
Local time
Today, 17:46
ok.. now this is what i see you want: