Search Function (1 Viewer)

Lance55

Local time
Today, 08:21
Hi
I need to write a search function for my access database.
I have an order form on which I have two text boxes labelled First Name and Surname I would like the user to be able to enter text into these boxes and using a command button be able initiate a search of the Customer Table for the Name, finding only the record which has the first name and surname which the user entered. I need the results to be displayed so that the user can click the correct one and the fields on the order form will be filled out with that customers details.
I'm relatively new to VBA and any help would be much appreciated.
Thank You
Lance

agehoops

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:21
Here ya go, see if you can make sense of this, if not let me know and i'll explain how it's done. It's a search feature i use on all my systems. Easy to use but quite powerful and customisable :)

View attachment SearchDB.zip

Oldsoftboss

AWF VIP
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Good stuff agehoops, here is a similar sort of thing

Attachments

• search multiple fields.zip
    44.4 KB · Views: 3,395

Lance55

Local time
Agehoops could you explain how it works please? I don't understand it. Its definitely they type of thing i'm trying to do.

agehoops

Registered User.
Local time
sorry if it seems quite confusing. Ok basically you have one query for every type of search you want. For instance, if you want to be able to search for First names, then setup a query which searches the user/client/customer or whatever table holds the data. The criteria of this query is the First name criteria, and is based on the field on the form where the user types in their search. (same thing is done for other types of searches such as surname, dat of birth, anything you like, just create a query, and set the criteria to the control of the form). NOTE. MAKE SURE TO INCLUDE THE ID NUMBER.