Transferdatabase and error 3011 (1 Viewer)

chergh

blah
Local time
Today, 22:24
Joined
Jun 15, 2004
Messages
1,414
Hi Folks,

I am attempting to import a table using the following vba:

DoCmd.TransferDatabase acImport, "ODBC Database", _
"ODBC;DSN=rem1;UID=guest;PWD=guest;" _
& "DATABASE=Remedy", acTable, "HPD_Help_Desk", "tbl_hd1"

When I try runing the code I get run-time error 3011

The microsoft jet database engine could not find the object 'tbl_hd1'. Make sure the object exists and that you spell its name and path name correctly.

I have no idea what is causing this error anyone able to help?
 

JohnLee

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:24
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
692
Hi Folks,

I am attempting to import a table using the following vba:

DoCmd.TransferDatabase acImport, "ODBC Database", _
"ODBC;DSN=rem1;UID=guest;PWD=guest;" _
& "DATABASE=Remedy", acTable, "HPD_Help_Desk", "tbl_hd1"

When I try runing the code I get run-time error 3011

The microsoft jet database engine could not find the object 'tbl_hd1'. Make sure the object exists and that you spell its name and path name correctly.

I have no idea what is causing this error anyone able to help?

Hi,

You don't appear to be telling it where to find the table. Your code needs to look something like this

DoCmd.TransferDatabase acImport, "Microsoft Access", "G:\Audit Trail Database.mdb", acTable, "tblEmployees", "tblEmployees", False

Create a module with an appropriate name, produce code along the lines above, attach the module to a command button or whatever method you are using and your table should import each time without any problem

FAB

John
 

Noel

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:24
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
61
I'm trying to use the same method

and I'm getting the same error. Please post if you find the solution. I'll do the same.

Thanks.

Noel
 

mtairhead

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 17:24
Joined
Oct 17, 2003
Messages
138
Noel..err--- The solution's right above your first post. >.>
 

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Today, 14:24
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Messages
32,059
The VBA help file is a good source of info on how to use this (as well as many other things):

Microsoft Access VBA Help File said:
The TransferDatabase method carries out the TransferDatabase action in Visual Basic.

expression.TransferDatabase(TransferType, DatabaseType, DatabaseName, ObjectType, Source, Destination, StructureOnly, StoreLogin)
expression Required. An expression that returns one of the objects in the Applies To list. (DoCmd is the item listed in this list)

TransferType Optional AcDataTransferType.

AcDataTransferType can be one of these AcDataTransferType constants.
acExport
acImport default
acLink
If you leave this argument blank, the default constant (acImport) is assumed.

Note The acLink transfer type is not supported for Microsoft Access projects (.adp).


DatabaseType Optional Variant. A string expression that's the name of one of the types of databases you can use to import, export, or link data.

Types of databases:
Microsoft Access (default)
Jet 2.x
Jet 3.x
dBase III
dBase IV
dBase 5.0
Paradox 3.x
Paradox 4.x
Paradox 5.x
Paradox 7.x
ODBC Databases
WSS
In the Macro window, you can view the database types in the list for the Database Type action argument of the TransferDatabase action.



DatabaseName Optional Variant. A string expression that's the full name, including the path, of the database you want to use to import, export, or link data.

ObjectType Optional AcObjectType.

AcObjectType can be one of these AcObjectType constants.
acDataAccessPage
acDefault
acDiagram
acForm
acFunction
acMacro
acModule
acQuery
acReport
acServerView
acStoredProcedure
acTable default
This is the type of object whose data you want to import, export, or link. You can specify an object other than acTable only if you are importing or exporting data between two Microsoft Access databases. If you are exporting the results of a Microsoft Access select query to another type of database, specify acTable for this argument.

If you leave this argument blank, the default constant (acTable) is assumed.

Note The constant acDefault, which appears in the Auto List Members list for this argument, is invalid for this argument. You must choose one of the constants listed above.


Source Optional Variant. A string expression that's the name of the object whose data you want to import, export, or link.

Destination Optional Variant. A string expression that's the name of the imported, exported, or linked object in the destination database.

StructureOnly Optional Variant. Use True (–1) to import or export only the structure of a database table. Use False (0) to import or export the structure of the table and its data. If you leave this argument blank, the default (False) is assumed.

StoreLogin Optional Variant. Use True to store the login identification (ID) and password for an ODBC database in the connection string for a linked table from the database. If you do this, you don't have to log in each time you open the table. Use False if you don't want to store the login ID and password. If you leave this argument blank, the default (False) is assumed.
This argument is available only in Visual Basic.
 

Noel

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:24
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
61
thanks for the replies

I think I posted indicating that I got the transferdatabase method to work using the odbc argument. My problem was related to the visual fox pro odbc driver, which I subsequently resolved...the correct driver is that which is dated 12/7/1999 (don't be fooled by a driver --VFPODBC.DLL-- dated any other date...as the method will not work with anything but the 12/7/1999 version).

Thanks - Noel
 

chergh

blah
Local time
Today, 22:24
Joined
Jun 15, 2004
Messages
1,414
The problem was actually to do with network issues and not anything to do with the path or it not being able to find the table, all that is supplied with the little bit that says "DSN=rem1"
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom