Feedback on Prototype Attendance Database, please (1 Viewer)

Banana

split with a cherry atop.
Local time
Today, 06:04
I had trouble figuring out how to 1) register a group of people for a class, 2) create a list of dates to meet for a class (which I call sessions), 3) track attendance per sessions.

Having looked for templates at Microsoft, I found plenty of Excel templates, but no Access. The closest is Student Registration template, which doesn't track attendance at all.

So I figured I'd make a prototype to help me understand how everything works. Since I got so much input from everyone, I figure I'd return the favor and perhap make it a sample database, especially for those who desire a spreadsheet-like data entry while maintaining a properly normalized data structure.

But I would prefer that other has tested and given feedbacks on the prototype before I put this in sample database forum (if that's okay with you admins) as this is my first time and I don't want to give others bad template.

So anyway, here's the prototype.

Note: The database is 100% undocumented, 100% error-handling free, and 100% unsecured. Use it wisely. :)

PS: The attachment will reference a extraneous library. If you are getting an error, clear the reference for MS Office 11 Web Components.

PSS: I knew I forgot something: There is still unsolved problem of correcting sorting the columns in datasheet view. While the underlying query correctly sorts the recordset, it seems to be ignored entirely in datasheet. If anyone has a solution, I'm all eyes here.

Attachments

• PrototyleClassAttendance.zip
    81.1 KB · Views: 1,841
Last edited:

CraigDolphin

GrumpyOldMan in Training
Local time
Hi Banana, FYI I get an error on opening the frmClassSetup form; on the line:

Me.Controls(("Box" + Format$(IntX))).ColumnHidden = True