Wrap text in the Header columns (1 Viewer)

WilliamQian

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:52
I'm new to MS Access and this forum. This may be a silly question but I cannot find answer anywhere: can I wrap text in the header columns of a table in Datasheet view as shown in the attachment?

BTW, I cannot make the column width wider because I want to display as many columns as possible.

Any help would be great appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• Q_wraptext.JPG
    Q_wraptext.JPG
    59.8 KB · Views: 1,336

DJkarl

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:52
Don't think you can do this in datasheet view, datasheet is setup to look just like a table, and has similar limitations to a table when it comes to formatting. Why not try a tabular form, then you could set column header width and heights seperately from the columns where needed.

WilliamQian

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you very much for the quick response. Tabular form doesn't look as "neat" as a datasheet. We're transferring from Excel, and my users are expecting to see something looks like a spreadsheet...

But I'll go with tabular form if there's no better solutions. Thanks again.

Libre

been around a little
Local time
Another possibility is to use aliases for column headings. So, instead of, say:
SalesTotalsFor2007 you can use an alias in the query design like this:
SalesTots07:SalesTotalsFor2007
Then it will be SalesTots07 that appears on the datasheet view. When referring to that column from outside the query you'll have to use the alias name of SalesTots07.

WilliamQian

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks, Libre, but I want to display full text in the column headings.

WilliamQian

Registered User.
Local time
True, at first but if you work at it you can make it look close to the same as a datasheet. It just takes some work.

Here is the best I can do with Tabular form. It's pretty good though. Thanks for all helps.

Attachments

• untitled.JPG
    untitled.JPG
    91.5 KB · Views: 2,691