Still struggling with hyperlink command button (1 Viewer)

NotVeryTechie

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:56
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
54
Here's what I am trying to do - I have a hyperlink field. Next to the field I want to put a command button. When the user clicks on this it will open explorer (or similar) and the user can browse to the correct folder, then select it. And this will be stored in the hyperlink field.

How on earth do I do this? Or am I being way overambitious?? :)
 

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
Today, 09:56
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
5,638
Good question. :)

Could you go about another way? Like maybe, giving the user a list of available targets? There is always the application.followhyperlink method to use with the button...
 

NotVeryTechie

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:56
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
54
What do you mean by application.followhyperlink method?

I would basically like the user to select a folder, or be able to create a folder. The folders will all be in a specific place and they would need to create/select a sub folder in that list.
 

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
Today, 09:56
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
5,638
the application.followhyperlink method does exactly that...it follows a hyperlink. So, if you want to open to a specific folder, you write:
Code:
application.followhyperlink "ADDRESS"
 

NotVeryTechie

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:56
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
54
Hi ajetrumpet - sorry to sound dense, but does this link to a specific address? What I am looking to do is create a Browse button so that the user can select a folder which will be stored in the hyperlink field. They can then click on this when they next need to look up the documents.
 

TLEnder

New member
Local time
Today, 15:56
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
6
Hi

This might be a bit out of date, but maybe it can help someone else.

you can add the following to the On Click event of a button -

Code:
Me.[your Hyperlink field].SetFocus
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdInsertHyperlink

When you click the button it will open the same dialog box as if you had right clicked and selected Hyperlink and then Edit Hyperlink.

Hope that helps.

TLEnder
 

rfear

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:56
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
83
Bit after the fact, but helped me today :)
 

tragik

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:56
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
36
Hi

This might be a bit out of date, but maybe it can help someone else.

you can add the following to the On Click event of a button -

Code:
Me.[your Hyperlink field].SetFocus
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdInsertHyperlink
When you click the button it will open the same dialog box as if you had right clicked and selected Hyperlink and then Edit Hyperlink.

Hope that helps.

TLEnder
Thanks, this helped me!!!
 

moonoo

New member
Local time
Today, 22:56
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
1
Hi

This might be a bit out of date, but maybe it can help someone else.

you can add the following to the On Click event of a button -

Code:
Me.[your Hyperlink field].SetFocus
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdInsertHyperlink

When you click the button it will open the same dialog box as if you had right clicked and selected Hyperlink and then Edit Hyperlink.

Hope that helps.

TLEnder

it's very outdated and very useful help. Thank you.
 

Abstergo

New member
Local time
Today, 07:56
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
1
No matter how old it is, this thread saved me a ton of time today. Thanks!!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom