Access 95 on XP Pro (1 Viewer)

Geoff Stone

Local time
Today, 23:59
I have been using Access 95 for 12/13 years with no problems, though they are mainly simple applications - nothing clever. I have just upgraded from Win98SE running with 192MB RAM to XP Pro with 2GB RAM. When I try to run Access it comes up with the message 'Out of Memory'. Clearly this harks back to the old Extended DOS memory, current at the time. I have tried to run EMM386 before running Access but it doesn't work (I think EMM386 fails, but it doesn't give any error messages).

Can anybody tell me what I need to do to allow this to run under the newer memory systems? I have of course ticked Win95 Compatibility.

Geoff

Mike375

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 08:59
I had to change out of A95 when I got XP but my problem was different.

On XP home some forms would not open unless Control Alt Delete was pressed and then they would open after maybe 10 or 15 seconds. Once opened they could be then closed and opened as normal.

On XP Pro the Control Alt Delete would do the trick. Enter A2003. There may have been other issues but I did not go any further due to the form issue.

Using Win95 Compatibility caused a lot of other problems but I can't remember if it solved the form problem.

Simon_MT

Registered User.
Local time
Access 97 is stable on XP and Vista. I don't know about 95 as 97 sorted out a lot of issues.

Simon

Geoff Stone

Local time
Mike,

Thanks for comment. When I first installed Access95 to my new PC, when I clicked on MSAccess.exe I got the normal opening panel with the Access logo, version number and licensed to - my name. Above that is a small panel with the 'Out of Memory' error message. If I clicked on a .mdb file I had the message something like 'There is no licence on this machine' which was untrue. So I reinstalled it again with the licence /serial number as before and now it just does nothing if I click on the database.