Table Design questions (1 Viewer)

gardengal444

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:12
Newbie here... I think I've got the guts of my table designs okay, but there's a couple of nagging issues. Here's my "virtual" pen and paper exercise. The relationship chart and other Access views just don't cut for me. I had to create excel-style table views to see the data in action all in one eyeful:

So a couple of questions...

1. in the first table, there may be multiple common names in the real world sometimes. Probably not too frequently. Should these be normalized elswhere? Seems like potential overkill. I am hoping a comma-separated list or even space delimited will work for the right keyword searches. Haven't gotten that far in the end result output design yet.

2. In tblPlantings, I'm not sure how to prevent duplicate entries. In my mind, the cultivar and location and qty combine to create a single instance of a "planting" of a particular species. I can have multiple instances of the same species and cultivar in different locations, but not at the same location. If there are multiples at the same location, that should just bump qty of a planting. I surely don't want a separate row for each "1" of qty.

When I read about a data model of animalType (cat ,dog, horse) and Pet (fluffy, fido, carrot), that related to my data nicely. But my plantings don't have Pet names. (although sometimes I think of them like my pets! :) ) Oh, now that I think of it, I wouldn't have two cats named fluffy.

hmmm...not quite there yet after all. Any ideas?

Attachments

• ExcelVisualDB.jpg
    ExcelVisualDB.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 1,563

gardengal444

Registered User.
Local time
rereading my post and maybe its not so bad after all... If a plant dies and I replace the same plant in the same location, that would be a valid so-called "duplicate" planting. So I guess status is part of the combination that dictates uniqueness.