Convert tables in Word 2003 to Access 2007 (1 Viewer)

Zlatkodo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:51
I have a lot of tables in Word 2003 (total number of rows exceed 8 000). I want to convert these tables into Access 2007 database for further use in a simple application in Visual Basic. Can someone explain how I can do this, ( please, notice that I am a beginner in Access 2007).
Thanks in advance. Zlatkodo.

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 21:51
1. Copy and paste the table into Excel
2. Copy and paste the contents from Excel into a table in Access. You would need to highlight the whole table (just like you do in Excel, click the top left corner) before pasting.

OR

2. Import that Excel file into your db using the Import wizard.

Zlatkodo

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you. I almost managed to do it. There is an error in one column that I must somehow eliminate.
In this column in the Word document are strings, something like 1-7, or 1-11 or 1-10.
As soon as I copy-paste in Excel I already have a error. I get something like a date (in my language) for example: 1.lis or 1.pro .... When I import to Access I get something like: 40360 or 40483 etc.. It seems to me that I need somehow to validate columns in Word before copying.
How can I do it? I want to get into Access exactly the same string as in Word.
Thanks.
Zlatkodo

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
1. Instead of using Paste, try PASTE SPECIAL in Excel when you right-click.
2. Select VALUES in the window that pops-up and paste it.

If that doesn't work, select that whole row in Excel and convert it to Date. Right-click > Properties > General Tab > select Date > OK.

Zlatkodo

Registered User.
Local time
1. Instead of using Paste, try PASTE SPECIAL in Excel when you right-click.
2. Select VALUES in the window that pops-up and paste it.

That doesn't work.
If that doesn't work, select that whole row in Excel and convert it to Date. Right-click > Properties > General Tab > select Date > OK.