Select multiple (or randome) rows from a form (1 Viewer)

anandsbr

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:43
Guys,

I am new to MSAccess programming so need some help here.

I have a form where data is being displayed and currently user choose any row and assign to a investigator. This is very time consuming so they want mass select or random select and assign it a investigator. I tried to provide checkbox in the detail section. but what happens is in preview, I check the box but all checkboxes are selected. I do not want that. If I choose one then that should be selected and not other checkboxes.

Please help.

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
This is the normal behavior for an unbound control in Access. You have to bind the checkbox to a field in the underlying record in order for it not to persist thru all records.

In this situation you need to
  1. Bind the checkbox to a field in the record
  2. Tick the checkbox for the desired records
  3. Do your assignment based on the selected records
  4. Re-set the checkboxes back to an non-ticked state
An alternative approach would be to populate a Listbox with the records and set its Multi Select Property to either Simple or Extended. I think Extended is the one for your stated needs. Then assign the selected records to an investigator, as desired.

Linq ;0)>

anandsbr

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks for the quick reply.

The data source of the form is view, so i had added a dummy column with space as value. (' ' as qcselect). I bound the checkbox with the dummy column. Now the issue when I preview still all checkbox is selected and when I try to uncheck it says it is not editable. I checked the properties and made sure 'Enabled' is Yes. Not sure if is really bound.

Any idea.

Appreciate your help.

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Sorry, but your response really makes no sense at all.
The data source of the form is view