random numbers for an indexed field with No duplicates (1 Viewer)

sonny123

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:56
every time I create a new record it gets a sequential reference number Like this:
Code:
Me![CaseNumber] = Nz(DMax("[TableCaseNumber]", "[Main]"), 0) + 1
(BTW this is not the primary Key)

Whilst i imagine this is fine in most circumstances, the situation i'm in sequential numbers are causing confusion particularly when a service user has multiple cases open that opened at the same time.

What Id like to do is experiment with is giving a random number to each case when it opens so there is greater distinction between multiple cases opened at the same time sort of like this:
Code:
Me![CaseNumber] = (RandomNumber between 00000 And 99999 That Doesnt already exist in ("[TableCaseNumber]", "[Main]")

is this possible, is there such a function ??

being an access noob I enjoy working out solutions myself what i'm after is pointing in the right direction.
Pointers hints links & suggestions please.

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 17:56
Have a look at the Rnd() Function.

The following code should generate non repeating Random numbers between one and one thousand;
Code:
    Dim intRandomNum As Integer

Randomize

If Me.RandomNum = 0 Then
        intRandomNum = Int((1000 - 1 + 1) * Rnd + 1)   [COLOR="Green"] 'Generate random number[/COLOR]

If DCount("RandomNum", "TBL_Records", "RandomNum = " & intRandomNum) = 0 Then     [COLOR="Green"]'Check if random number already exists and assign if it dosn't[/COLOR]
            Me.RandomNum = intRandomNum
            Exit Sub
        End If

While DCount("RandomNum", "TBL_Records", "RandomNum = " & intRandomNum) > 0     [COLOR="Green"]'Regenerate and keep trying until new random number is reached[/COLOR]
            intRandomNum = Int((1000 - 1 + 1) * Rnd + 1)
            If DCount("RandomNum", "TBL_Records", "RandomNum = " & intRandomNum) = 0 Then
                Me.RandomNum = intRandomNum