Run time error '438' (1 Viewer)

Johnny Drama

In need of beer...
Local time
Yesterday, 23:26
Hello all,

I'm using the code below to filter and open a report in access 2007. When the code fires I get the following error message:

Run time error '438': Object doesn't support this property or method. Debug goes the line in bold below. I'm not a VBA coder by an means, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Private Sub Owner_Name_AfterUpdate()
Dim stDocName As String
Dim stLinkCriteria As String

stDocName = "Email Exceptions By Owner"
stLinkCriteria = "[Assigned To]='" & Me![Owner Name].[ID] & "'"
DoCmd.OpenReport stDocName, acPreview, , stLinkCriteria
End Sub

CBrighton

Surfing while working...
Local time
Today, 07:26
What type of field is it?

's go around text, if the ID field is a number then you just need: stLinkCriteria = "[Assigned To]=" & Me![Owner Name].[ID]

Johnny Drama

In need of beer...
Local time
Your question made me realize that I had a numeric field and that I had it in the wrong place. This is what I have now:
stLinkCriteria = "[Assigned To].[ID]=" & "Me![Owner Name]"

however when I run it I get asked for the criteria for these two items, which I don't want. I just want it passed from the combo box (Owner Name) to the Assigned To control on the report.

**scratching head**

CBrighton

Surfing while working...
Local time
Anything in "s will be taken literally, the text not the contents of it.

So "Me![Owner Name]" means you are looking for something with "Me![Owner Name]" in the field, rahter than the value of the control called Owner Name.

What is the name of the field in the table & the control on the form?

Johnny Drama

In need of beer...
Local time
The control name for the combo box on the form is Owner Name and it is pulling from a query: SELECT [Owner Extended].[Owner Name] FROM [Owner Extended];

The Owner Name is then passed to the report control named Assigned To which is numeric

CBrighton

Surfing while working...
Local time