Running Total from 2 columns in different tables (1 Viewer)

michibahn

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 17:31
Hi guys, I'm really new to db programming so please bear with me.

I need to add a new column (named BALANCE) in my query to sum/subtract my existing 2 columns namely QTY IN and QTY OUT.

Attached is a snapshot on what I have in excel using the formula =SUM(A1,-B1) in the 1st row then on the 2nd row =SUM(C1,A2,-B2) to calculate the BALANCE column "in EXCEL"

I need it to do these calculactions in MS ACCESS. Please help me. Attached is my DB qryRunTotal

TIA!

Attachments

• TOTAL.JPG
    TOTAL.JPG
    17.4 KB · Views: 209
  • db1.zip
    284.7 KB · Views: 134

michibahn

Registered User.
Local time

michibahn

Registered User.
Local time
I will look at it as time allows.

Alan

Hi Alan,

I'm woking on the qryRunTotal query to make a new BALANCE Column from the QTY in and QTY OUT columns.

I've also posted the snapshot of the results I want to achieve in my first post as well.

Thanks a lot for your time.

Alansidman

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 16:31
First off, if you want to have a running sum, you will need to put the Inventory receipts and Inventory shipments in the same table. You will also need to set that table with a unique record number (usually this is an autonumber that is used only for Access to identify records). Once you have this in place, then you can run a query using the SQL statement format shown in the link I presented.

Your current structure will not allow this as there are no unique identifiers for both tables that will allow for sequential running sums.

If after restructuring your db, you need additional help with this, then post back with your db attached.

Alan

Alansidman

AWF VIP
Local time
Here is a db template that I developed for a check book. It has a query transactions that employs the running sum solution I gave you. Look at how the table and query and the report are set up to get a running sum by date.