Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 10:19 PM   #1
sigma788
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sigma788 is on a distinguished road
Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

is there any way of converting Access 2010 web database template into a desktop database.
i tried Northwind 2010 web database template and after converting into accdb the form and reports cannot be edited in design view( there is no design view option).
such forms and reports cannot be exported also.

Thanks.

sigma788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 11:30 AM   #2
AccessJunkie
Senior SDET - Access
 
AccessJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rogue Squadron
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 29 Posts
AccessJunkie will become famous soon enough
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Hi,

Yes it is possible to convert the 2010 Northwind Web Database into a client version. It will, however, take some manual work on your part.

Follow these steps:
- You first need to create a new empty client ACCDB file.
- Once that is open, you can import all the web tables, client forms, and client reports from the web copy into the client file. The web tables will be converted into client tables but you cannot import web queries, web forms, web reports, and web macros into the client version.
- Close the client copy now and open the web copy
- You can individually change a web object and save out a copy of the object as a client object.
- To do this, highlight a web query for example in the Navigation Pane. Click File tab, then Save & Publish area on the left, then Save Object As in the middle of this pane, and finally click the Save As Client Object button on the right side. You'll be prompted to give a name for the client object. Since it can't be the same name as the original at the moment, just use the same name and append the word Client at the end.
- You'll see a client copy of that web query in the Navigation Pane. To make sure the application still works, you'll need to delete that web query, and rename the client version to match the original name (remove the appended Client word from the name you gave it earlier.)
- You will need to repeat these steps for each and every web query, web form, web report, and web macro in the application. Yes, it will take some time to do that.
- Once complete, you can import all of these remaining client objects into your client only ACCDB file. Your file should now only have client copies of the Northwind web database.

--------------------
Jeff Conrad - Access Junkie - MVP Alumnus
SDET II - Access Test Team - Microsoft Corporation

Author - Microsoft Access 2010 Inside Out
Co-author - Microsoft Office Access 2007 Inside Out
Access 2007/2010 Info: http://www.AccessJunkie.com

----------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at
http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.mspx
----------
AccessJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:27 PM   #3
sigma788
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sigma788 is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Thanks for the reply
i have managed to convert forms/reports by saving individually as (saving as client object).
however i am stuck with converting Tables.
if i try by importing database the HIDDEN tables such as MSysRelationships,MSysQueries,MSysObjects etc gets renamed by suffix 1 and are different from original nortwind database.

i have attached my worked database deleting all records except one or two.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip Nortwind 2010.zip (654.6 KB, 577 views)

sigma788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 12:07 PM   #4
AccessJunkie
Senior SDET - Access
 
AccessJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rogue Squadron
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 29 Posts
AccessJunkie will become famous soon enough
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Hi,

When you import the web tables, you need to make sure you import them into a new client ACCDB container, not a web one. Otherwise, the tables remain web tables. Also, when you import tables, never import any of the system tables - the ones that start with the MSys prefix.

At any rate, attached is a completed client-only copy of the Northwind 2010 web database.

Hope it helps,

--------------------
Jeff Conrad - Access Junkie - MVP Alumnus
SDET II - Access Test Team - Microsoft Corporation

Author - Microsoft Access 2010 Inside Out
Co-author - Microsoft Office Access 2007 Inside Out
Access 2007/2010 Info: http://www.AccessJunkie.com

----------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at
http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.mspx
----------
Attached Files
File Type: zip Northwind2010Client.zip (547.1 KB, 1277 views)
AccessJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AccessJunkie For This Useful Post:
debmars (05-05-2012), sigma788 (12-11-2011)
Old 12-11-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
sigma788
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sigma788 is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Thanks for helping me out.

i have another question
some MSys prefix tables (EXCEPT MSysRelationships) have different enteries. can they be ignored or can they create errors in future.

Thanks.
sigma788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:01 PM   #6
AccessJunkie
Senior SDET - Access
 
AccessJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rogue Squadron
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 29 Posts
AccessJunkie will become famous soon enough
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Hi,

The best advice I can give on that is to simply pretend those system tables are not there. They exist for Access to maintain various areas of your application but you should treat them as "hands off." Don't try and add, edit, delete, or modify in any way shape or form these tables - their structure or data. You could cause major damage to your application if you mess with them. Just ignore them. Change your Navigation Pane settings to hide the system tables (that's the default setting anyway) and you won't see them.

Don't be tempted by the Dark Side or forever will it dominate your destiny.

<Jedi hand waving>
These aren't the tables you're looking for...
</Jedi hand waving>

--------------------
Jeff Conrad - Access Junkie - MVP Alumnus
SDET II - Access Test Team - Microsoft Corporation

Author - Microsoft Access 2010 Inside Out
Co-author - Microsoft Office Access 2007 Inside Out
Access 2007/2010 Info: http://www.AccessJunkie.com

----------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at
http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.mspx
----------
AccessJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:16 PM   #7
speakers_86
I am jack's comment.
 
speakers_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: JBLM, Wa
Posts: 1,653
Thanks: 11
Thanked 78 Times in 70 Posts
speakers_86 will become famous soon enough
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessJunkie View Post
<Jedi hand waving>
These aren't the tables you're looking for...
</Jedi hand waving>
Your cool in my book(no sarcasm intended).

__________________
If you look, you can find anything.
Google is your friend.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Access 2010 screw this! I went back to 2007
Windows 7
speakers_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:49 PM   #8
sigma788
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 32
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sigma788 is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Thanks for the info.

Now we have functional Northwind 2010 client database template if anyone wants.

cheers..
sigma788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:19 AM   #9
Rich_Art
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rich_Art is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessJunkie View Post
Hi,
At any rate, attached is a completed client-only copy of the Northwind 2010 web database.
That is a fine local database but I have a problem with it.
When I click the "new purchase order" button I get an error warning which tells me "type mismatch" I can't find the problem which causes this error

error.jpg

Anybody experience the same error?? And what can I do about this.

Thanks in advance,

Peace,
Rich_Art.
Rich_Art is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:20 AM   #10
Rich_Art
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rich_Art is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigma788 View Post
Thanks for the info.

Now we have functional Northwind 2010 client database template if anyone wants.

cheers..

Is this another than the one from accesjunkie??

Peace,
Rich_Art.
Rich_Art is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:04 AM   #11
SDB
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SDB is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

anyone got a 2007 version of this please. thanks
SDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 12:52 PM   #12
YNWA
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 881
Thanks: 26
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
YNWA is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Sorry for dragging up old threads but got a question.

Whats the problem with using the Web Database on a Client Desktop?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from Designer Boutique
- Official UK Stockists of Armani Jeans, Creative Recreation Trainers, MA.STRUM Jackets, True Religion Jeans, Vivienne Westwood T-Shirts and more!
YNWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:29 AM   #13
YNWA
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 881
Thanks: 26
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
YNWA is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

Anyone? Thanks
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
from Designer Boutique
- Official UK Stockists of Armani Jeans, Creative Recreation Trainers, MA.STRUM Jackets, True Religion Jeans, Vivienne Westwood T-Shirts and more!
YNWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 09:49 AM   #14
NKO
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
NKO is on a distinguished road
Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

This thread helped me a lot. I couldn't download the 2010 "Desktop Services Template" via Microsoft Access (returned 'corrupt', "not a template" and OLE errors) and the internet only had the web version. Took me a couple of hours but I converted it. If interested in the file, please PM me. I don't have a host site to upload it to.
NKO is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NKO For This Useful Post:
D3XX (08-07-2013)
Old 08-07-2013, 06:55 PM   #15
D3XX
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
D3XX is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Re: Convert Access web database template into a desktop database

NKO, there seems to be no way to PM you... I really want a blank client copy of "desktop services template"

D3XX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert Exisitng Access Database to Access Frontend MySQL backend DBnub11 SQL Server 12 04-01-2011 08:15 AM
Question Complete Access newbie with a question about Access 2007 Contact Database Template vinnier General 7 12-16-2009 06:43 AM
Changing a desktop Database to a Access Project Jamet1234 General 5 12-18-2007 05:04 PM
Convert Access Database To Spanish krcdeveloper General 1 12-31-2006 01:05 AM
convert Access Database to Project(.adp)? AGM2004 General 3 08-24-2004 08:17 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2010 Access World