Running balance query (1 Viewer)

tttccc

Local time
Today, 10:15
Hi all, I am new to using access and trying to work out a query that will transform the set of data I have into one with a sort of running total figure.

The data I have is in the format shown here:

Left hand field is item, right hand field is movement of that item

a 1
a 5
a -1
b 2
b -3
b 2

And I was looking to add this extra column on the end which calculates a running total for each item.

So the columns are now: item, movement, balance

a 1 1
a 5 6
a -1 5
b 2 2
b -3 -1
b 2 1

Apologies for the bad demonstrations, can't upload a picture showing how my tables are laid out at work.

If anyone has any suggestions on where to start let me know.

Thanks all

Last edited:

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 04:15
Running balance implies there exists an order to your data (i.e a,1 comes before a,5 comes before a,-1). How do you determine that order? Is there a date field with each record?

As long as there is, then you would create a field in your query using the DSum function (http://www.techonthenet.com/access/functions/domain/dsum.php) implementing the item type and date field of each record in the criteria section of the function.

If you need more help, reply back with the names of relevant fields of your data source (item field, quantity field, date field)

tttccc

Local time
Today, 10:15
Ah I see,

yes my table has a date field, i only left it out to make it easier to represent the table on here.

I have three fields named as follows located in "Table1":

Item, Date, and Qty.

Should I add a fourth field with something like this?

Balance:dsum("qty", "Table1" ,"item = [item]")

Last edited:

RainLover

VIP From a land downunder
Local time
Today, 19:15
I am on my way out so I simply did a Copy Paste from an old Database of mine.

Code: