Autofill a subform based on the record selected in Main form (1 Viewer)

aladinabox

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:49
Hi,

I'm fairly new to access and have been trying to figure this out for days now and cannot come up with a solution, someone will probably know how to do this straight away! I'm hoping anyway.

I have a database with a main form that displays all details relating to a particular item. On the subform, I want to be able to populate fields based on the code number that is chosen in the main form.

I'm not sure if that makes complete sense so please come back with any questions as to what I'm looking for.

Thanks in advance

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
It sound as though you need to set "Link Child Fields" and the "Link Master Fields" properties of the SubForm control.

aladinabox

Registered User.
Local time
Hi Bob,

Thanks for the quick response. I have the Link Child Fields and the Link Master Fields properties set up, I have them linking through Contract Number, then through the Course Code. What I want then is the rest of the fields to be autofilled from the values that are in the course code, do this sound possible?

Thanks again.

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Can you post a copy of your DB. It would need to be in A2003 mdb format for me to open it.

aladinabox

Registered User.
Local time
I have attached the db in 2003 format. You will see the Record of Common Awards AIS form, this is the form I'm referring to. I would like to be able to make the subform look up the tblAssessmentTitleAndCode, and based on the Course Code field, to autofill the Module Title and Module Code with the appropriate records.

Thanks very much Bob for your time. This has been wrecking my head for days!

Last edited:

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Your subform is bound to a table that has no records, so what do you expect to see in the subform?

aladinabox

Registered User.
Local time