Beginner Advice for a Family Database (1 Viewer)

newaccess user

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:04
Hello and thank you for taking the time to read this rather long winded thread.

I am quite new to using Access 2003. I have inherited a flat database of families that my job requires me to maintain. It is an overview of all things about the family.

At the moment each family has 1 record containing (amongst other detail) Husband first and last name, Spouse, Anniversary, Home No, Mobile No, email address address, child 1 name, Date of Birth and the same for child 2,3,4 or 5, husband nationality, spouse nationality and if the spouse drives or works.

As you can see, this is far to much information for 1 record, especially when I have around 240 families.

one of the many tasks I am required to complete is to produce a quarterly report that lists families by certain address area and how many children live in that area aged between 0-3 then 4-12, then 13-18 and 19-25.

Monthly I produce a 1 pager newsletter and without quoting the date I will wish any child under 13 a happy birthday (its not cool to have your name in the newsletter if you are 13 or over) if it falls during the month my newsletter is produced for.

I have searched through the available industry data modules and could find nothing.

I am kind of thinking my issue would not be to bad if I fully understood relationships (in Access) and how to separate the information out to get the right results (I am in the process of learning):banghead:.

I hope you sort of get my problem and I would appreciate any advice as long as it is aimed at ankle level for me to understand.

I would be more than willing to provide any other information.

kind Regards.

GohDiamond

"Access- Imagineer that!"
Local time
Today, 00:04