Holding down Shift (1 Viewer)

jonnymenthol

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:27
Hello all,

Is there any way of stopping users of my database from holding down Shift and getting into the database.

I however, still need some sort of facility to do this, so I can add new forms, queries etc whenever necessary.

Thank you in advance, and apologies if this is not the correct place to post, but I'm very new at this.

Thanks.

J.

ghudson

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:27
The below function and command button code will allow you to use a password
protected input box to determine if the Shift key can be disabled or not.

You might have to set your "References" to DAO 3.6. When you are viewing
the module, click the Tools menu >>> References >>> and Browse for Microsoft
DAO 3.6 >>> Select "Files of type: Executable Files (*.exe; *.dll)"
My DLL was located @ C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\DAO.

Copy this function into a new public module.
Code:
Public Function SetProperties(strPropName As String, varPropType As Variant, varPropValue As Variant) As Integer
On Error GoTo Err_SetProperties

'Dim db As Database, prp As Property
    Dim db As DAO.Database, prp As DAO.Property

Set db = CurrentDb
    db.Properties(strPropName) = varPropValue
    SetProperties = True
    Set db = Nothing

Exit_SetProperties:
    Exit Function

Err_SetProperties:
    If Err = 3270 Then 'Property not found
        Set prp = db.CreateProperty(strPropName, varPropType, varPropValue)
        db.Properties.Append prp
        Resume Next
    Else
        SetProperties = False
        MsgBox "Runtime Error # " & Err.Number & vbCrLf & vbLf & Err.Description
        Resume Exit_SetProperties
    End If

End Function
Assign this to the OnClick event of a command (transparent?) button named "bDisableBypassKey".
Change the "TypeYourPasswordHere" default password.
This sub ensures the user is the programmer needing to disable the Bypass Key.
You can not format an Input Box!
Code: