Audit Trail (1 Viewer)

libby32

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:46
I am new to being a DBA. There are users keying into a database I created until 3 a.m. How I can review data that they have entered after I leave at 5 pm until 3 a.m. to pick up on possible errors? Or should I need to do this?

Rob.Mills

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:46
You can setup tables to track who adds records, who changes them and who deletes them. They're complicated to setup. If you can avoid by setting input masks, formats and validation rules, that would be much simpler.

You can setup a function pretty easily that will add to each record who created it. Does everyone have their own user id's for their workstations?

ghudson

Registered User.
Local time
Try my attached sample. It is based on the How to Create an Audit Trail of Record Changes in a Form . I recently had a reason to use it so I had to figure out how it worked and altered it to my liking. I also made some changes to the original code to report Null values. Please post back if you have any suggestions. Thanks!

I have uploaded a newer version in the post below...

Last edited:
M

mrabrams

That is awesome ghudson.

I tried adapting it to a small db of my own. When setting the breakpoint at Private Sub Form_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer) and 'F8' ing through the code, I got an error at the line:

Set MyForm = Screen.ActiveForm
jumps to:
If Err.Number <> 64535 Then 'Operation is not supported for this type of object.

I seem to remember this happened before, somewhere, but I cannot figure out what needs to be done to correct it.

Do you have any ideas?

Thanks - you did a great job with your demo !!

Michael

ghudson

Registered User.
Local time
Doh!!! I just noticed what you were trying to do. You can not run the code from a module. You have to run the code with a form active on the screen...ie...Set MyForm = Screen.ActiveForm

HTH

ghudson

Registered User.
Local time