Data Access Pages again.. (1 Viewer)

Bosch

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 00:47
I am getting very frustrated(and surprised) to see there was no answers to my question regarding Data Access Pages yet. I searched the web and manuals and help in Access, but no luck yet...
Can anyone tell me if Data Access Pages really works? I just came to know about it while developing MS Access application...I just thot it will be cool to go web with less effort...

Thanks very much...

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello Experts..

I am new to Access. I have Access 2003.
When I try to create a data access page using Wizard, I am getting the following message.

'The wizard is unable to create your data access page'

When I click on Database and select Refresh, I get the other msg

"Microsoft office access is unable to connect to the data source specified in the connection string of this page"..

I am very badly stuck here..Please help.

Thanks in advance...
Arun.

Meltdown

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:47
DAP's cannot be used successfully on the internet as they require the user to have MS Office XP installed and there is no way you can guarantee this. If you want your DB web accessible you need to use ASP/ASP.net.

Only use DAP's on intranets.

Last edited:

Bosch

Registered User.
Local time
It feels a little better now..

Thanks Meltdown..I am trying to use it within our intranet..I just want to have a web front end. My understanding is that I can create these html files thru data access pages and copy them to a shared drive..anyone on the intranet can use it..Do they need MS Access to use this ? We all using Windows 2000. But all of us may not have MS Access installed(everyone has Access 97 - But only a few have Access 2003)..

Anyways..I am not successful in creating a DAP yet....Any thoughts on the error msg I am getting?

Thanks..

Meltdown

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:47