Excel Copy Row Using VBA (1 Viewer)

DanG

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:19
Hi

I have never used VBA in Excel (but have in MS Access). What I'd like to do is when a user puts the curser in a cell and clicks a button I want to copy the row in which the cursure is places as well as copy the 1st four rows at the top of the sheet (always the 1st 4 rows) and paste these 5 rows into a sheet called "merge sheet".
The idea is that they can select a client by placing the curser on the above referenced cell and then merge the pasted info from the "merge sheet" into a word letter/label.

Any pointers in the right direction would be great.
And remember I am new to Excel VBA!
Thanks!

reclusivemonkey

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:19
Go to the Macro Menu. Turn on record. Do the steps you have just described. Stop the macro recording. Hey Presto, there's your macro.

DanG

Registered User.
Local time
Yeah, I thought about that but while the first four rows are always the same, the other row I want copied changes to what ever row has the forcus by the user selecting it.

reclusivemonkey

Registered User.
Local time
DanG said:
Yeah, I thought about that but while the first four rows are always the same, the other row I want copied changes to what ever row has the forcus by the user selecting it.

True, but then you have the majority of what you want. You should be able to work out how to get it to work like you want just by changing a couple of lines at the most. If you get stuck, you can post the code, saying where you are stuck. This way people can see you've done most of the work yourself and just need a little help to get you there :)

Brianwarnock

Retired
Local time
Given the last post date I don't know whether Dan gave up or solved his problem, but recording a macro would not help in this case as tha produces

Note I only had 2 hdr rows

Code:
Sub copyrowMacro4()
'
' copyrowMacro4 Macro
' Macro recorded 20/12/2005 by brian warnock
'

'