Searching Multiple Form Databases (complete newbie, really need help) (1 Viewer)

kamil

Local time
Today, 04:54
Here's the situation:

My company basically plopped this down on me; I have 2 database files with about 60 or so form databases within them(or whatever they're called -- im totally new to access). Within these form databases I have anywhere from 1-40 records. I have a list of entries from an excel spreadsheet that are incomplete -- they only have part of the required information and therefore cannot be filed away. In order to fill in the rest of the info, the correct form must be found by using any part of the partial information from the excel sheet.

So, I need to know if there's any way to search all the records in all the form databases at once for any given value. Say I have a company name from the excel sheet but nothing else. Instead of looking through each and every single record manually (what my company expects me to do right now -- this will take days if not weeks for all the records and would have to be repeated every single month), I would like to somehow search for this value. Can this be done? If so, what does it entail?

I am a newbie to access but am very fluent with all nature of computer software so if explained I can more than likely set it up. I have worked with mySql databases but never with access -- this stuff seems completely different.

Thanks!

cogent1

Registered User.
Local time
An Access database contains Tables, Forms, Queries, Reports and code modules in one mdb file.

You are probably referring to TABLES when you mention FORM DATABASES. Assuming this to be the case, how much commonality exists between the tables? How similar are they in terms of field name/types? Would they lend themselves to simplification? Can they be concatenated to make searches easier?

Searching through the tables is possible of course, but the exact means of doing that depends on the structure of your database.

kamil

Local time