Solved Delete Query (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 22:35
Hi All,

I have a query to delete certain records from a link SQL table, but there are a lot (over 300k). Is there any way of creating a query to loop delete 100 records at a time so it doesn't get hung up trying to delete them all in one go?

~Matt

ebs17

Local time
Today, 23:35
This is unusual and there is no easy way to do it. It is the hallmark and strength of SQL to do everything at once and very quickly.

Your problem is probably not the deletion itself, but the determination of the certain records - ineffective formulation of the query, no use of the index.
Please show the SQL statement.

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 05:35
you can try, but maybe too slow:

Delete [yourTable].* From [yourTable] Where [PKField] In (SELECT TOP 100 [PKField] From [yourTable)

MattBaldry

Local time
This is unusual and there is no easy way to do it. It is the hallmark and strength of SQL to do everything at once and very quickly.

Your problem is probably not the deletion itself, but the determination of the certain records - ineffective formulation of the query, no use of the index.
Please show the SQL statement.
Hi ebs17,

Please see code below.

Code:
DELETE dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.StockRecordAuditLogID, dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.StockRecordID, dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Username, dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action, dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.ActionDateTime
FROM dbo_StockRecordAuditLog
WHERE (((dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action) Like "Product Image Updated*" Or (dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action) Like "Label Printing*" Or (dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action) Like "Web Image Updated*" Or (dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action) Like "Aggregate Demand Days*" Or (dbo_StockRecordAuditLog.Action) Like "Replenishment Horizon Days*"));