Question To Deploy or not to Deploy (1 Viewer)

Laurad

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 08:58
Dear gods of the Database, forgive me for I have sinned.. (sort of). I have just read the "Ten Commandments of Access Database Programming" and I have failed on some, but not all, but will do my best to heed the commandments in future.

I have been working in a very small primary school for 14 years and as a favour many years ago began a small Access database to keep track of the pupils with particular interest in the ones with special needs. (The school is strong in terms of helping many such children.). The program has grown over the years and now the Special Education Needs department are very reliant on the database/software which I have developed slowly as needed over the years. I have been lax on things like splitting the database, which I will do now, but I would also like to lock it down so that only I can amend it. My Access skills are minimal.

I have been researching and have a number of questions I would love some advice on, that would not entail very complicated changes, if possible.

Originally, the database was written for one Teacher, but gradually more and more Special Needs teachers began to use it and they need to be able to access it from any one of about 40 computers as they move around the school.

Currently there are shortcuts on the computers to the one .mdb file on the server. It seems to work that multiple users can access the database and update as necessary (currently it’s data and code in the one .mdb file.

Firstly I need to upgrade to accdb.

Secondly, I should split the data and code. I am able to do that and have done so in the past and I am sure this will work well.