Button to export rtf (1 Viewer)

DaveEntact

Local time
Today, 09:06
Trying to add a button to my form that will export ONLY one field on the form to rtf. I'm new to this so don't know the code.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:06
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Probably the easiest route is to create a query to return the single field you want to export and then use a macro to export it (the query).

conception_native_0123

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Probably the easiest route is to create a query to return the single field you want to export and then use a macro to export it (the query).
guy,

will that create designing pipes with the single field values as well? I know if tables get exported and they are opened up in notepad, the vals are surrounded by pipes. will this happen here too?

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 22:06
create a Query outputting the single field:

(qryFieldname)
select Fieldname1 from yourTable;

you can use Macro to export the query (ExportWithFormatting).
just complete the required textbox on the macro design.

use DoCmd.OutputTo, in VBA.

DoCmd.OutputTo objecttype:=acOutputQuery, objectname:="yourQueryName", outputformat:=acFormatRTF, outputfile:="d:\output.rtf"

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
guy,

will that create designing pipes with the single field values as well? I know if tables get exported and they are opened up in notepad, the vals are surrounded by pipes. will this happen here too?
Hi. You are correct. The exported file will contain the pipes. Are you looking for a way to not have the pipes? Since the OP is exporting it to RTF, it would have a normal table borders instead.

conception_native_0123

Local time
Hi. You are correct. The exported file will contain the pipes. Are you looking for a way to not have the pipes? Since the OP is exporting it to RTF, it would have a normal table borders instead.