How Can I Share Access DB in a LAN for multiple users? (1 Viewer)

heavenbound4life

Local time
Today, 11:42
I need to share an access DB for many users in a Local Area Network. Please, first, what's the best way to go about it? This is my first time trying it out. Second, if I have to store the backend on the server, my fear is "how do I link the shortcut icons of the end-users to the backend file?"

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:42
...my fear is "how do I link the shortcut icons of the end-users to the backend file?"
It is highly recommended to use UNC paths when linking the FE to the BE to avoid problems with different mapped drives among multiple users.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:42
The "master" copy of the FE should be linked to the BE as theDBguy mentioned using UNC paths instead of mapped drive letters. This eliminates problems where drive mappings are not consistent and some people might have the drive with the BE mapped as x and others might have it mapped as p.

There are several distribution methods. The two common ones are a batch file and a custom database that does the distribution. You can choose from multiple samples of either type. My preference is the batch file. I create a batch file and store it on the server. (let me know if you want an example). Then I create a shortcut that runs the batch file. I (or the network manager) distribute the shortcut to all new users. All they need to do is to add the shortcut to their desktop and click and the FE is copied to a folder on their local drive. The batch bile makes the folder before copying and then opens the file. This gives users a clean copy every time they open the FE. The other method which uses a separate database as the distribution method is not better or worse but it is more complex and people tend to add other type of fe/be logic to it. I tend to keep that logic in my FE so it simplifies the batch file.