Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2019, 06:33 AM   #1
Natham
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Natham is on a distinguished road
Combobox abbreviating my columns

Hello! I am new to access and I am having a problem with my combobox: it has 4 columns, they are all showing in the dropdown however one column, i admit, is a little large and the combobox is only showing two letters of the word or the first two letters of two words

an example is this
INSTEAD OF SHOWINF THIS:
id_dia / dia / clase / hora
DKBN / DOMINGO / KICKBOXING + NINJUTSU / 16:00

IS SHOWING:

id_dia / dia / clase / hora
DKBN / DOMINGO / KN / 16:00

I tried changing the column widths but it doesnt solve the problem. the thing that it might get confusing for the user and i would like to avoid that

thank you very much!

Natham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:09 AM   #2
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 463
Thanks: 21
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Hi Natham

Welcome to the Forum

You will also need to change the List Width as well as Column Widths
mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:18 AM   #3
MajP
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 38
Thanked 571 Times in 538 Posts
MajP has a spectacular aura about MajP has a spectacular aura about
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

I doubt that has anything to do with any widths
KICKBOXING + NINJUTSU becomes KN? No column width is going to do that.

Is that a single string "KICKBOXING + NINJUTSU" or are you concatenating? Use & instead.

MajP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:20 AM   #4
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 463
Thanks: 21
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Very True MajP I completely misread the question
mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:26 AM   #5
MajP
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 38
Thanked 571 Times in 538 Posts
MajP has a spectacular aura about MajP has a spectacular aura about
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Quote:
Very True MajP I completely misread the question
However, I still have no clue how that would even be possible, if that is really happening. Unless those are the PKs "K" and "N" and the op is concatenating a table with drop down lists. So the table shows Kickboxing but the real value is "K"
MajP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:28 AM   #6
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 463
Thanks: 21
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Hi

Can you upload a zipped copy of the Db so we can see the properties of the Combo Box?
mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:41 AM   #7
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,486
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,419 Times in 1,400 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Hi Natham. Welcome to AWF! If you can't post a copy of your db, can you please show us the Row Source of your Combobox? If it's a name of a query, please show us the SQL statement of that query instead. Thanks!

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:57 AM   #8
Natham
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Natham is on a distinguished road
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

its a bit heavy i'll upload a screenshot

statement sql:
SELECT HORARIOS.ID_DIA, HORARIOS.DIA, HORARIOS.CLASE, HORARIOS.HORA
FROM HORARIOS
ORDER BY HORARIOS.DIA, HORARIOS.HORA;

then the combo box has this:

Private Sub ID_DIA_ASIS_Change()
Me.DIA_ASIS = Me.ID_DIA_ASIS.Column(1)
Me.CLASE_ASIS = Me.ID_DIA_ASIS.Column(2)
Me.HORA_ASIS = Me.ID_DIA_ASIS.Column(3)
End Sub

i think its suuuper simple however its abbreviating all the records i cant figure why


thank you!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen access.jpg (98.0 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by Natham; 12-02-2019 at 05:29 AM.
Natham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:00 AM   #9
MajP
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 38
Thanked 571 Times in 538 Posts
MajP has a spectacular aura about MajP has a spectacular aura about
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

As I said, do you have a lookup list in the table where those values are primary keys?
MajP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:29 AM   #10
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 463
Thanks: 21
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Looks like you are storing the abbreviation ie KB vice the Primary Key
mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:31 AM   #11
Natham
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Natham is on a distinguished road
Re: Combobox abbreviating my columns

Quote:
Originally Posted by MajP View Post
As I said, do you have a lookup list in the table where those values are primary keys?
Yeess!!! yes I have! ok ok cant believe I didnt see that

Natham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
combobox , form

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Columns of Row in ComboBox Ksabai Modules & VBA 3 03-30-2019 09:17 AM
Referencing Combobox Columns binghamw Forms 12 04-28-2004 10:07 AM
Combobox Columns gkrajenta Forms 2 12-18-2003 01:42 PM
[SOLVED] Showing Columns With Combobox jblaven Reports 1 12-07-2003 11:52 PM
ComboBox with two columns Nenya Forms 2 07-04-2003 11:21 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World