Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2009, 07:57 AM   #1
herronar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
herronar is on a distinguished road
Option button, frame and one text box

I have 4 options on a Form called TestResults:

Option1: 0 - 8
Option2: 9 - 12
Option3 13 - 14
Option4: > = 15

I have created two fields called:

SelectedTestResultOption
OptionTestResultActual

The field SelectedTestResultOption, stores the option selected.

The OptionTestResultActual together with the 4 Option buttons appear on the TestResults form, within a frame called TestResultsFrame.

The text box, OptionTestResultActual, enables the user to enter the actual test result, but is limited by the Option criteria by the selected option prior to entering the actual test result.

How do I:

1) Enable the user to enter a number within the selected option criteria in the text box?
2) Set a Validation rule for each of the criteria within the text box, in order to ensure that the user only enters a number within the option criteria selected.
3) The text box is only enabled if a criteria is selected.

herronar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 08:20 AM   #2
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,543
Thanks: 600
Thanked 1,008 Times in 950 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Option button, frame and one text box

Instead of causing the user to carry out two operations why not programmically select the relevant option group depending on the value the user enters?
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|  
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 08:27 AM   #3
herronar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
herronar is on a distinguished road
Re: Option button, frame and one text box

Thank you for your reply.

How do I programmically select the relevant option group depending on the value the user enters?

herronar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 11:48 AM   #4
jsv2002
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
jsv2002 is on a distinguished road
Re: Option button, frame and one text box

You have already started a thread for this.... I have posted you an example of what you asked for maybe finish that thread first?

http://www.access-programmers.co.uk/...184#post822184

__________________
The possibilities are endless the results are always the same.... it either works or you start screaming at the screen in frustration
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jsv2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World