Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2016, 05:58 AM   #1
Valery
Newly Registered User
 
Valery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 363
Thanks: 227
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Valery is on a distinguished road
Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

Hi everyone,

I purchased a new computer. I had the same OS installed (Win 7 Pro) and the same MS Office installed (ver 2010) as I had before.

When I open any of my databases, I find that the "Customize the Ribbon - New Group" I had created and have been adding to for a long time - is GONE!

The Group contained many useful shortcuts as well as macros.

Any idea how I can get it back? Is it hidden somewhere?

THANK YOU

Valery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 06:15 AM   #2
Isskint
Slowly Developing
 
Isskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,302
Thanks: 126
Thanked 311 Times in 304 Posts
Isskint will become famous soon enough
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

Hi Valery

Custom ribbons are stored in a folder. New PC, no custom settings. You can export/import ribbon settings, so if you still have the old PC, export those and import to the new PC.

Here is a good link http://www.howtogeek.com/72670/how-t...ustomizations/
__________________
Isskint, i get satisfaction out of helping others
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out
Isskint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 11:09 AM   #3
Valery
Newly Registered User
 
Valery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 363
Thanks: 227
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Valery is on a distinguished road
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

THANK YOU! The link you provided talks about MS Word, not Access... I still have the old hard drive - where would it be on there? Do you know?

Valery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:16 PM   #4
Isskint
Slowly Developing
 
Isskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,302
Thanks: 126
Thanked 311 Times in 304 Posts
Isskint will become famous soon enough
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

It should not matter which Office program you are using, the customisation files are exported/imported in the same way. As to where the file is actually stored, i do not know.
__________________
Isskint, i get satisfaction out of helping others
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out
Isskint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:13 PM   #5
Valery
Newly Registered User
 
Valery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 363
Thanks: 227
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Valery is on a distinguished road
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

When you try to import the customization file, it does ask where it is located. Please remove comment - will no help anyone. Thank you for trying.
Valery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 12:46 AM   #6
Isskint
Slowly Developing
 
Isskint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,302
Thanks: 126
Thanked 311 Times in 304 Posts
Isskint will become famous soon enough
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

Hi Valery

I have just invoked export and import on my custom ribbon and by default it went to My Documents.

If your custom ribbon is not in My Docs, search for the file type .exportedUI.
__________________
Isskint, i get satisfaction out of helping others
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out
Isskint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 06:25 AM   #7
Valery
Newly Registered User
 
Valery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 363
Thanks: 227
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Valery is on a distinguished road
Re: Ribbon Toolbar Missing - please help

Yes, thank you. Last night, I was researching this on the Web. I did look for "exportedUI". Problem is that before I had my drive removed from my old PC, I did not export them - therefore that file does not exist.

When I do export/import, you are right it defaults to My Documents where I have nothing.

On my old PC, all my databases would automatically have this custom ribbon - I never had to import or export. So there has to be a file on that hardrive that handled this...


Valery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access 2007 Ribbon and Toolbar Options JohnLee Modules & VBA 1 10-29-2014 07:44 AM
A 2013 Ribbon missing Dick7Access General 6 09-26-2013 02:45 PM
Customise toolbar/ ribbon button? Big Pat Excel 3 03-09-2012 05:36 AM
Ribbon and toolbar options foxy General 3 06-08-2009 12:19 AM
Missing Toolbar Option bsdixon General 0 03-12-2005 09:40 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World