Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Macros

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2018, 06:20 PM   #1
QueryStumped
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
QueryStumped is on a distinguished road
ImportExport

Hello...love this forum, very useful information. I am working on a MTQ and need to share the information with others, without having it linked into another database. Thought about the ImportExport command in a macro, but it tends to not refresh the data on a shared file folder. Please advise.

QueryStumped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 10:43 AM   #2
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,472
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,384 Times in 3,279 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: ImportExport

don't know what an MTQ is, why not export data to excel and distribute the excel file?

Really think you need to clarify what you are trying to do - 'refresh the data'?
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
QueryStumped (09-17-2018)
Old 09-16-2018, 12:53 PM   #3
QueryStumped
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
QueryStumped is on a distinguished road
Re: ImportExport

I am running a macro that consist of a make table query, refreshing data records to share with other groups and export out via import export command to save the table as an Excel spreadsheet. When I did it, it's not capturing the new table. Didn't know when I export it out via macro command import export if it has to be a 97-2003 version or just Microsoft excel. Once it's exports out I am trying to run another import export command in another database to import the new table. That's when I notice new records are not included.

QueryStumped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 02:50 PM   #4
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,472
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,384 Times in 3,279 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: ImportExport

Quote:
I am running a macro that consist of a make table query,
you will need to show your code - I'm guessing you do not delete the table before making it and have disabled warnings

If it is a macro, rather than vba code, I probably won't be able to help because I don't use them
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
QueryStumped (09-17-2018)
Old 09-17-2018, 06:27 AM   #5
QueryStumped
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
QueryStumped is on a distinguished road
Re: ImportExport

Thank you, I don't use code just macros. Just starting out... Appreciate your help
QueryStumped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 07:26 AM   #6
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,472
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,384 Times in 3,279 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: ImportExport

without knowing what your code/macros is, I cannot help.

Strongly recommend you do not rely on macro's - they are relatively limited in scope compared with VBA, cannot be annotated so you know what the code is supposed to be doing, do not provide any ability to debug and almost impossible to communicate to others for assistance.

There is a facility to convert macros to vba (see ribbon in design view). Once done, you can copy and paste the code to the forum and surround with code tags (highlight code and click the # button). Alternatively try taking a screenshot of the macro - go to the advanced editor and see the section on managing attachments to upload the screenshot.
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
QueryStumped (09-17-2018)
Old 09-17-2018, 07:28 AM   #7
QueryStumped
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
QueryStumped is on a distinguished road
Re: ImportExport

Thank you. I will have to venture out.

QueryStumped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 07:30 AM   #8
GinaWhipp
AWF VIP
 
GinaWhipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 5,247
Thanks: 20
Thanked 869 Times in 854 Posts
GinaWhipp has a spectacular aura about GinaWhipp has a spectacular aura about
Re: ImportExport

Curious... Why are you using a Make Table Table Query? If the fields as always the same why not just empty said table and then refill it>

Side note, guessing here as I don't use macros but perhaps the new records are coming in because the Make Table isn't happening fast enough to be be populated.
__________________
Gina Whipp
Microsoft MVP (Access 2010-2015)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GinaWhipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 08:12 AM   #9
Gasman
Access newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 2,718
Thanks: 318
Thanked 427 Times in 412 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: ImportExport

You can run macroes one step at a time, so you could try that approach.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QueryStumped View Post
I am running a macro that consist of a make table query, refreshing data records to share with other groups and export out via import export command to save the table as an Excel spreadsheet. When I did it, it's not capturing the new table. Didn't know when I export it out via macro command import export if it has to be a 97-2003 version or just Microsoft excel. Once it's exports out I am trying to run another import export command in another database to import the new table. That's when I notice new records are not included.
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasman For This Useful Post:
QueryStumped (09-17-2018)
Old 09-17-2018, 06:17 PM   #10
QueryStumped
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
QueryStumped is on a distinguished road
Re: ImportExport

Thank you, I will apply all the suggestions when I get back to work, really appreciate all the feedback,

QueryStumped is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ImportExport Spreadsheet using Macro *overwrite existing table* Lydia Uys Macros 3 01-02-2014 09:53 AM
Copying ImportExport form unsuccessful audrey Forms 3 04-08-2002 12:00 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World