Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2019, 11:15 AM   #1
timfitz256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
timfitz256 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation question about froms

I'm new, very new to Access. I've created a database for inventory control, plus some other things also. I have a main form for when I add a new asset, upon interring the information for that asset, I have a tab on the form called "Deployment Checklist". I've build this Deployment Checklist as a table and have connected it to the form as a "subform". It looks great and does what I want it to do, except, when I save the form for that asset, it updates all the assets and the "Deployment Checklist" table also. I don't want this to do that. I want this tagged to this one asset, not all. I can't seem to find a way to stop it from updating it all. I would understand if it was connected in the relationships, but it's not..

What can I do to get this from updating all records, I just want this to update for this one asset.

Any help would be apricated.
Thanks,

timfitz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:22 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,467
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,413 Times in 1,394 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: question about froms

Hi. Welcome to AWF! It would be hard to say what is wrong with the form without seeing it. Are you able to post a demo version of your new db?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:30 AM   #3
timfitz256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
timfitz256 is on a distinguished road
Re: question about froms

don't know if this will help.. here's a snapshot of my form in form view..

fornsnapshot.JPG

The check you see refers back to a table..

timfitz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:49 AM   #4
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,303
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,597 Times in 1,517 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: question about froms

Sounds like you are not using a junction table. Please post a picture of your relationships. Make sure that all the columns are visible and the window isn't jumbled as it can sometime get that way.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:52 AM   #5
timfitz256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
timfitz256 is on a distinguished road
Re: question about froms

relationships.JPG

hope this helps
timfitz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:58 AM   #6
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,303
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,597 Times in 1,517 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: question about froms

I don't see a checklist table.

Just FYI, naming all the pk's ID just causes confusion. Normally, the PK will have a name that relates it to the table such as ContactID, LocationID. Then the FK field that links to that PK would have the same name.

It is only where you have a self referencing table or need multiple references to a single table that you need to deviate.

Also, best practice is to use object names constructed from only letters (upper and lower), numbers, and the underscore. Using embedded spaces or any character other than those mentioned causes Access to require you to encase the name in square brackets and sometimes, Access will actually change the name and substitute underscores for the offending characters.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 02:36 AM   #7
missinglinq
AWF VIP
 
missinglinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond (Virginia that is!)
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 11
Thanked 721 Times in 671 Posts
missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light
Re: question about froms

Like Pat, I don't see a Table that looks appropriate for your Deployment Checklist...but, going by
Quote:
Originally Posted by timfitz256 View Post

...when I save the form for that asset, it updates all the assets and the "Deployment Checklist" table also. I don't want this to do that. I want this tagged to this one asset, not all...
it sounds as if you don't have a Field that is common to the assets Table and the checklist Table...something needed to make the checklist items only be associated with a given asset.

It sounds as if you've simply placed the checklist Form on the Assets Form...you have not actually made it a Subform.

In Design View...if you select the Checklist Form...then go to Properties - Data...are there Fields listed in the Link Master and Link Child Properties?

Linq ;0)>

__________________
The Devil's in the Details!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(All code solutions tested in Access 2003/2007, before posting, unless otherwise noted.)

Last edited by missinglinq; 10-18-2019 at 02:42 AM.
missinglinq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:21 AM   #8
timfitz256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
timfitz256 is on a distinguished road
Question Re: question about froms

Ok. I've renamed the ID's, which cause me some issue that I fixed.. I included the checklist in the relationships window.. it has no relationship.. I have embeded the checklist as a subform..

Thanks for all the help... I really apricate this.. Like I said, I'm new at this, so don't be to hard on me.. LOL

relationships2.JPG
formsnapshot2.JPG
timfitz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 05:13 AM   #9
missinglinq
AWF VIP
 
missinglinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond (Virginia that is!)
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 11
Thanked 721 Times in 671 Posts
missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light
Re: question about froms

Quote:
Originally Posted by timfitz256 View Post

...I included the checklist in the relationships window.. it has no relationship.. I have embeded the checklist as a subform...
That's your problem! You can't have the Checklist Form as a Subform if it's not related to the Assets Form! You need to have the Checklist Table related to the Assets Table!

You need to
  1. Add a new Field (AssetID) to the BuildChecklist Table.
  2. Now...in Form Design View
  3. Select the Checklist Form
  4. Go to Properties - Data
  5. In the Link Master and Link Child Properties add AssetID

I think you'll be set, now.

Linq ;0)>
__________________
The Devil's in the Details!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(All code solutions tested in Access 2003/2007, before posting, unless otherwise noted.)
missinglinq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 06:26 AM   #10
timfitz256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
timfitz256 is on a distinguished road
Question Re: question about froms

I apricate all the help.. but I'm about to pull what's left of my hair out.. about to just give up on this.. I'm beginning if this is not something that a micro should fix?? like I said, I'm very new at Access so I really don't know...

I tried what you suggest, and for a minute I thought this might be the answer..
Once I add the field to the checklist "AssetID", what "data type" do I give it, maybe that's my problem there?? I was linking it to the asset table?? not sure to what data type I should assign if any at all..??

when I do the master link and child link, it clears my list out down to only one line, which is blank, and it wants to add new items on the checklist, which is something that I don't want to do.. I want to be able to see the items I have on the checklist... go down the list, check them off... leave comments.. and it be saved for that asset only.. not all assets.. etc..

again.. thanks so much for your help..
timfitz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 06:52 AM   #11
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 463
Thanks: 21
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: question about froms

Hi

I would think it is down to the Format of your Subform.

I would delete the subform you currently have for the Checklist.

Then create a Continuous Form using the Form Wizard based on the Checklist table.

Then add this new subform to your Assets form and link Master Child again on AssetID

mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
froms add new record wth existing fk verdes Forms 1 01-28-2013 07:23 PM
Dissappearing Froms..! djshongo Forms 5 10-27-2005 03:05 AM
[SOLVED] Searching with Froms Drunken Monkey Forms 1 03-17-2005 01:31 PM
Using Formulas in Froms and Sub-forms aftershokk Forms 1 04-30-2004 01:43 PM
[SOLVED] Listboxes on Froms charlienothing Modules & VBA 1 05-29-2003 09:34 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World