Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2009, 08:53 PM   #1
CHAOSinACT
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 235
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
CHAOSinACT is on a distinguished road
ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

I have been trying to implement code from the access 2007 bible.... everytime i try to implement the anything to do with ADO it won't run!

coppied code from bible exactly, going insane! is there some library includes to get ADO running or what!?!

just including this line causes runtime errors:

Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset

never mind the rest, that kills it! I can do
Dim rs As Recordset but want to work with ADO for dynamic sql updates...

Thanks,
Carl

CHAOSinACT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 08:59 PM   #2
EraserveAP
Newly Registered User
 
EraserveAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Campton NH
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
EraserveAP is on a distinguished road
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

Did you set the reference for it in the Tools/References?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I use Access 2003 and 2007
EraserveAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:28 PM   #3
CHAOSinACT
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 235
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
CHAOSinACT is on a distinguished road
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

what to include! learning this from manual, done some vba in the past but been ages (i'm really more of a lisp programmer).

Thanks,
Carl

CHAOSinACT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 12:33 AM   #4
DCrake
Remembered
 
DCrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Burnley, Lancashire
Posts: 8,634
Thanks: 8
Thanked 325 Times in 208 Posts
DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Skype™ to DCrake
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

Try

Dim Rs As New ADODB.Recordset
__________________
David Crake


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Home of Simple Software Solutions.

O/S Windows XP (SP3) & Windows 7 64bit
Access 2003 (version 11.0)
Access 2007 (version 12.0)

Remember when posting sample databases you will get a better response if it is pre Access 2007 - not all people have it installed.
DCrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 04:55 AM   #5
EraserveAP
Newly Registered User
 
EraserveAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Campton NH
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
EraserveAP is on a distinguished road
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHAOSinACT View Post
what to include! learning this from manual, done some vba in the past but been ages (i'm really more of a lisp programmer).

Thanks,
Carl
Once you have the references window open Scroll down for Microsoft Activex Data Objects X.x Library, where X.x is the latest Number, then place a check mark. I am not sure but you may also need Microsoft ADO Ext X.x for DDL and Security.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I use Access 2003 and 2007
EraserveAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 02:36 PM   #6
CHAOSinACT
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 235
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
CHAOSinACT is on a distinguished road
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

It was the references THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!
CHAOSinACT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 03:11 PM   #7
EraserveAP
Newly Registered User
 
EraserveAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Campton NH
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
EraserveAP is on a distinguished road
Re: ADO recordsets!!!! help!!!

You are very welcome.


__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I use Access 2003 and 2007
EraserveAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loop through all open ADO recordsets boblarson Modules & VBA 16 05-21-2010 04:48 AM
Multiple concurrent ado recordsets? PeterOC SQL Server 3 01-14-2008 06:30 PM
Help with VB syntax ZedtheHead Modules & VBA 8 01-16-2005 06:26 AM
ADO from DAO conversion errors, in regards to recordsets wavp Modules & VBA 2 10-19-2003 07:52 AM
A few questions about recordsets (ADO) Alexandre Modules & VBA 0 03-03-2001 05:31 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World