Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

Old 09-10-2019, 09:51 AM   #1
plantgeek
Newly Registered User

plantgeek is on a distinguished road
Question Checkbox to activate Combo box to then populate textbox - Possible at all? Pls Help

Hello there,

First off, this is my first post (aside from the introductions page) and I could use some guidance.
I am new to vba coding and have no idea what I am doing.
I am working on a costing db and am trying to add an exchange rate option to a costing form.

The Goal:
Is to have a checkbox entitled "Exchange" to select whether the user will be applying an exchange rate.

Next, if the user clicks on the checkbox, it activates a combo box that offers a "USD to CAN" or "CAN to USD" exchange option (These exchange options are being pulled from an exchange rate table).

When an exchange rate is selected from the Combo box , it should populate the text box with the corresponding exchange rate.

I have included a sample zip file of the exchange rate table along with the form with the three elements, but I cannot figure out how to get them to work in the order I want and how to get the exchange rate to populate the text box.

I would like to learn where to start and what best practice is. Please bear in mind I am a complete newb. I appreciate any help or insights on where I can begin to tackle this.

Please let me know if you have any questions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ExchangeRateSample.zip (42.1 KB, 6 views)

plantgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 10:24 AM   #2
arnelgp
error reading drive A:

Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Checkbox to activate Combo box to then populate textbox - Possible at all? Pls He

here is your sample.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ExchangeRateSample.zip (31.8 KB, 2 views)
Old 09-10-2019, 10:37 AM   #3
plantgeek