Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2003, 12:32 PM   #1
durdle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
durdle
db Split

Hey,

I have another db split FE/BE question. Here's how I figure it, you go to the Tools---->Database Utilities---->Make MDE File. One you specify the located of the Front End(I want to put it on the network, any thought?). So once I completed that I opened the FE and the tables and queries were there. I though the way it worked was that the FE only had the Forms and Reports and the tables and queries was located in the BE(I also have it one the network).
Any opinions on what I should do here?
I didn't want to put FE's the users machines becasue there are 30 or 40 work station's. I guess I could put the FE on the network and get the users to copy that to there local machines?

Any help would be great

durdle
________
lincoln continental mark vii history


Last edited by durdle; 02-10-2011 at 10:08 AM.
durdle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 12:47 PM   #2
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,316
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,600 Times in 1,520 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
The be contains ONLY tables. The fe contains all the other objects. When you look at the tables tab in the fe, you will see linked tables as well as local tables. You can tell the difference because linked table names have a black arrow (for Access tables) or a Globe (for ODBC tables) to the left of the table name.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 12:51 AM   #3
neileg
AWF VIP
 
neileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 5,975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
neileg has a spectacular aura about neileg has a spectacular aura about
It's not clear why you want to split the db.

If you want all users to use the same FE, why copy it to their local machine? Why not let them run the FE from the server? There are reasons why one way is better than the other, depending on the circumstances.

__________________
You can't always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you may just get what you need - Rolling Stones

Cheers, Neil
neileg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World