Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 08:09 PM   #1
access2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 339
Thanks: 139
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
access2010 is on a distinguished road
Sub Form controls

In our MsAccess 2003 database we want to use the form = Investment_Transactions_Main = to allow the continuous entries of (Buying & Selling) transaction.

My problem is that when I choose a = Stock Name = or Symbol Stock = the corresponding data for the chosen equity is not grouped in the sub form and I can not enter new records.

Your assistance is appreciated.

Thank you
Mary Jane
Attached Files
File Type: mdb Sub_Data_Entry_Form_2003.mdb (1.11 MB, 5 views)

access2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 10:49 PM   #2
June7
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 728
Thanks: 0
Thanked 168 Times in 168 Posts
June7 will become famous soon enough
Re: Sub Form controls

First, advise you not use special characters such as #, $, / in names. Use Num or No for #, just drop the $, use _ instead of /.

If you want to enter data into record with those two comboboxes, they should be in the Detail section. Really shouldn't save Stock_Name or Symbol_Stock or Symbol_Stock_Y, just Investmentl_ID.

If those controls are for input of filter criteria then they should be UNBOUND.

And what do you mean by 'grouped'? Forms do not group records. You can sort and filter. Reports can group records.
__________________
To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression. Attachment Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window.

Last edited by June7; 10-14-2018 at 12:39 AM.
June7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 11:07 PM   #3
arnelgp
Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 6,712
Thanks: 55
Thanked 2,133 Times in 2,044 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Sub Form controls

add a Sort Order to your subform 's recordsource.

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:15 PM   #4
access2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 339
Thanks: 139
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
access2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Sub Form controls

Thank you for your suggestions, of not using the symbols you advised us of. Our problem is that these characters have been used for over 10 years and to change them is very difficult, BUT we will not be using these characters in the future.

===

Please advise us as to how we can use the chosen Stock Name or Stock Code to group the equities in the Sub Form?

Where should the combo boxes be so that we can use them to group the equities together for editing?

Your assistance is appreciated.

Nicole
Attached Files
File Type: mdb Sub_Data_Entry_Form_B.mdb (664.0 KB, 3 views)
access2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 10:10 PM   #5
arnelgp
Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 6,712
Thanks: 55
Thanked 2,133 Times in 2,044 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Sub Form controls

here. view the code on the AfterUpdate event of those combos on the main form.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sub_Data_Entry_Form_B.zip (120.4 KB, 2 views)

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Form Control to display in Form or be invisible and other Controls to use space PNGBill Forms 5 05-05-2014 01:49 AM
Question Details form from multiple image controls on main form josephbupe General 1 09-16-2013 09:18 PM
Moved controls to tabbed page, controls not working RCheesley Forms 7 10-05-2009 08:24 AM
Auto Populate Form Controls from Form List Box selection alexk15102 Forms 10 01-06-2009 05:39 AM
Disable all Controls except for New Record Controls on Continuous subform airforceruss Forms 0 02-05-2008 01:21 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World