Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2018, 02:04 AM   #1
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 554
Thanks: 24
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MickJav is on a distinguished road
Use the wizards

I left this site in 2007 and have just returned and have noticed that a lot of posters would not have had the problems the did have if they had turned the wizard on.


I've been working with access for neally 20 years with a few breaks for mysql/php etc


It's stange they way things have changed I having to play catchup myself with some things but people help yourselfs use the wizards esp if you have very little experiance as access shines there if you let it help you.


Rant over lol

__________________
After 20 years working with access i have no more hair to give.
MickJav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 02:29 AM   #2
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 6,980
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,715 Times in 1,592 Posts
isladogs is just really nice isladogs is just really nice isladogs is just really nice isladogs is just really nice isladogs is just really nice
Re: Use the wizards

Wizards can indeed be useful, particularly for new users of Access.
However they can also produce their own issues.

For example, forms/reports created using wizards constrain all controls using 'invisible' layout guides. These can cause significant issues if the user then wants to add/remove controls later as the layout seems to have a mind of its own.

Similarly, Access defaults to the use of embedded macros and tabbed documents. I don't find either of these helpful though others will disagree.

In fact when creating a new database, the first things I change in Access options are to use overlapping windows and tick 'always use event procedures'
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to isladogs For This Useful Post:
MickJav (11-10-2018)
Old 11-10-2018, 03:00 AM   #3
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 554
Thanks: 24
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MickJav is on a distinguished road
Re: Use the wizards

I do the same I dont use wizards for forms or reports I was just talking about combo boxes, option groups I should have been more specific sorry live and learn lol


I hate the snap to grid as well as macros lol

__________________
After 20 years working with access i have no more hair to give.
MickJav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 03:11 AM   #4
Gasman
Access newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 2,609
Thanks: 309
Thanked 404 Times in 389 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: Use the wizards

I must admit, the wizard for the report is nice UNTIL you come to add another control.
I have had great difficulty trying to match up a newly added control to those generated mainly in the titles and lines between controls.

For forms I find the wizard good for at least putting everything on, and then I rearrange to suit.
I have no objection to a macro for closing a form when using the wizard, or something equally simple, but for everything else, I will use VBA, even if I do not know what I need in the way of code. A quick Google often helps.
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 03:13 AM   #5
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 554
Thanks: 24
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MickJav is on a distinguished road
Re: Use the wizards

Googles been my best friend for years lol
__________________
After 20 years working with access i have no more hair to give.
MickJav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 05:36 AM   #6
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 12,472
Thanks: 62
Thanked 1,175 Times in 1,075 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Use the wizards

I recall that there is a way to remove all layouts without losing the controls associated with them. So while I don't keep layouts, I don't hate them.

My approach is that you can use a wizard to put up the scaffolding and to get the facade of your app presentable. Then go back and customize by adding more detailed error handling, auditing, logging, etc. because the wizard never gets it 100% right. They only do the minimum required to get things going in the direction that you specify.

Wizards are often dumber than a box of rocks, but I have never seen a wizard do something that was flat-out wrong. With the possible exception of Report Layouts, which are just SO wrong. {mind wanders to scene from Galaxy Quest where Tech Sergeant Chen makes out with alien while Guy looks on and says "That's not right."}
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 05:57 AM   #7
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 554
Thanks: 24
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MickJav is on a distinguished road
Re: Use the wizards

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Doc_Man View Post
With the possible exception of Report Layouts, which are just SO wrong. {mind wanders to scene from Galaxy Quest where Tech Sergeant Chen makes out with alien while Guy looks on and says "That's not right."}

PMSL I totally agree there.

__________________
After 20 years working with access i have no more hair to give.
MickJav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 11:32 PM   #8
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 869
Thanks: 20
Thanked 235 Times in 225 Posts
AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough
Re: Use the wizards

The report wizard can add fundamental elements to a report that some users might have trouble with. Headers and footers might seem obvious to most but, what about page headers? Summing and grouping is another place where the wizard might shine. Formatting a report can be time consuming, the wizard automates that.

You still have to tweak a wizard created report but at least it has good bones.

Another issue people seem to have with wizards is they leave that pesky layout formatting on forms and reports. Layouts can be removed by right clicking on the control, and removing the layout feature. The result could be a good starting point. The label and controls are aligned and formatted.

Open any modern template from Microsoft Access and you will find wizard created reports and forms, not to mention macros. I assume the people who have templates accepted and packaged with Access are talented people who don't need to use macros to prove any point.

These features are neither good nor bad, just tools in a tool box.

AccessBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wizards ddrew Forms 7 07-01-2012 03:00 PM
Where are the wizards? speakers_86 General 1 06-10-2011 08:56 PM
Wizards dsigner General 2 08-08-2006 12:32 AM
Wizards gblack General 4 02-12-2003 12:24 PM
Help with wizards please? opus726 General 2 08-02-2002 11:02 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World