Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 05:24 AM   #1
dimebagslash
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dimebagslash is on a distinguished road
record list doesnt update automatically after adding new record

i'm using the web contacts template and attempting to recreate its processes for my own needs.

i notice that when using the original and adding a new contact, the namelist area updates as soon as i close the data entry form (called ContactDetails) on the template.

On my recreation i have to navigate to a different page and back again to get the list of records to update and include the new record.

any ideas?

ta

dimebagslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:32 AM   #2
DCrake
Remembered
 
DCrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Burnley, Lancashire
Posts: 8,634
Thanks: 8
Thanked 325 Times in 208 Posts
DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Skype™ to DCrake
Re: record list doesnt update automatically after adding new record

Try running a requery on the list after ading the record.
__________________
David Crake


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Home of Simple Software Solutions.

O/S Windows XP (SP3) & Windows 7 64bit
Access 2003 (version 11.0)
Access 2007 (version 12.0)

Remember when posting sample databases you will get a better response if it is pre Access 2007 - not all people have it installed.
DCrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:43 AM   #3
dimebagslash
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dimebagslash is on a distinguished road
Re: record list doesnt update automatically after adding new record

excellent, thanks.

would the requery argument be the name of the control on the list?

dimebagslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:21 AM   #4
missinglinq
AWF VIP
 
missinglinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Richmond (Virginia that is!)
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 11
Thanked 716 Times in 666 Posts
missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light missinglinq is a glorious beacon of light
Re: record list doesnt update automatically after adding new record

Not name of the control on the list, the name of the list control!
__________________
The Devil's in the Details!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


(All code solutions tested in Access 2003/2007, before posting, unless otherwise noted.)
missinglinq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 06:51 AM   #5
dimebagslash
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dimebagslash is on a distinguished road
Re: record list doesnt update automatically after adding new record

apologies as im still pretty much a noob.

I have a form called "Main" containg a Navigation subform. that contains a subform calle "sfrNamelist".

so on the save record button i have tried to add the requery:

Forms!Main!NavigationSubform!sfrNamelist

and i get an error.

thanks

dimebagslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a record code doesnt work!!! nish2009i Forms 2 04-04-2009 08:08 AM
Append if Record Doesnt Exist, Else Update proballin Queries 1 02-20-2008 02:36 AM
How to automatically update a field when adding a record Grahamo Forms 0 08-09-2004 05:18 AM
Automatically create record if it doesnt exist Gruung Forms 9 12-04-2003 09:59 AM
How to automatically insert the FK when adding a new record? srideout2525 Forms 1 03-12-2003 12:35 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World