Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2019, 07:40 AM   #1
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

I just had a post that seemed to stop. I found a solution but have a question that wasn't answered. I upgraded from Office 365 2013 to Office 365 2016 and Access would not function. The Autoexec macro would open my programs but no other function would work after that, i.e., button clicks, Autokeys, or any of the functions. I checked and there were no missing or broken references. All my code and the other macros were there.

The only thing I didn't check was the Trust settings. Before I could try this, my computer was restored to Office 365 2013 again. They are going to upgrade me again at a later date and I will need an answer to this question.

Do you have to reset the Trust settings after you upgrade?

Thank you.

Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 07:42 AM   #2
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Hi. Not a definitive answer but it may be possible the registry settings for the Trusted Locations have different paths for different versions of Access. Meaning, if you have 2013 and then upgrade to 2016, perhaps the list for 2016 starts out empty. However, you would think the upgrade process should take this into consideration. I'll let you know if I find a more definitive answer.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Learn2010 (04-10-2019)
Old 04-10-2019, 07:48 AM   #3
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

That would be great. I support quite a few people here and they are trying to isolate Access and get rid of it. I don't want to give them an excuse. So, thank you very much.

Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 07:49 AM   #4
Mark_
Longboard on the internet
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Not the middle of no where, but I can see the road to it from my house.
Posts: 2,032
Thanks: 20
Thanked 381 Times in 374 Posts
Mark_ will become famous soon enough Mark_ will become famous soon enough
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Did any of your "Other functions" generate an error message?
Did you put in anything that would show you that they were being called?
Mark_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:05 AM   #5
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Nothing happened when I did anything. I have several Autokeys functions that would not activate. No buttons would respond to clicks. I mean it was dead.

Thank you.
Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:06 AM   #6
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Learn2010 View Post
That would be great. I support quite a few people here and they are trying to isolate Access and get rid of it. I don't want to give them an excuse. So, thank you very much.
Hi. As promised, here you go: Trusted Locations

So, it appears the paths are different; but like I said, you would think the upgrade process should take care of it. How exactly is your IT performing the upgrade. If they are uninstalling the old version before installing the new one, then your Trusted Location list will probably not get imported.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Learn2010 (04-10-2019)
Old 04-10-2019, 08:08 AM   #7
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

He just installed the new one over the old one.

Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:09 AM   #8
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Learn2010 View Post
He just installed the new one over the old one.
Are they selecting the "upgrade" option? (just curious...)
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:11 AM   #9
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

It is a Software Center with a list of the programs available to your license. He selected Office 365 2016 and installed it.
Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:28 AM   #10
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Learn2010 View Post
It is a Software Center with a list of the programs available to your license. He selected Office 365 2016 and installed it.
So, if installing the new version doesn't import your trusted locations, then either create your own utility to do it or the user will just have to repopulate the list one at a time.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Learn2010 (04-10-2019)
Old 04-10-2019, 08:37 AM   #11
Learn2010
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 404
Thanks: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Learn2010 is on a distinguished road
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Thank you.
Learn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 08:39 AM   #12
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,594
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Trust Issue 2013 to 2016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Learn2010 View Post
Thank you.
Hi. You're welcome. Good luck with your project.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Learn2010 (04-10-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgent!! 2013 to 2016 Stops All Functionality Learn2010 General 13 04-11-2019 07:16 AM
Office 365 - Access 2016 issue Snowflake68 General 12 01-08-2018 04:36 PM
Can Access 2016 be used with sharepoint foundation 2013? shadowsedge General 0 05-19-2016 06:38 AM
Runtime 2016 Developer 2013 ECEK General 1 05-12-2016 06:23 AM
Trust issue alorenzini Macros 14 10-24-2007 07:07 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World