Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-14-2010, 03:09 AM   #1
RHubbard
Newly Registered User
 
RHubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: North-central Maine, USA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
RHubbard
Rich Text in Memo Field- Question

The ability to apply rich text formatting to memo fields (in Access 2007/2010) is quite helpful for me, however I wonder if there is a way to apply the same RTF formatting to multiple memo records (all at the same time)?

As it is now, I need to go to each individual record and change the formatting (in this case to a specialized language font that "masks" normal ascii type characters with another character).

While this is possible to accomplish if the table data is displayed via a form with the text control fontname set to the font I use, the data in data-sheet views on subforms (and split forms) still requires line by line edits.

Thanks for help and/or pointers.

Rick


Last edited by RHubbard; 03-14-2010 at 10:03 AM. Reason: Cahnged wording to make my problem more understandable
RHubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
Galaxiom
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 11,653
Thanks: 98
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,414 Posts
Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold
Re: Rich Text in Memo Field- Question

While formatted rich text is displayed the actual value of the field includes the formtting characters.

Values in rtf fields for a font other than the default look like this.
<div><font face=SomeFontName>YourText</font></div>

Differently formatted sections have separate divisions.

Parse the value held in your field and concatenate the new font name using vba.
I would do it using a function.

Consider storing the field as plain text and applying the function in the Control Source of the textbox rather than storing the formatting information in every record.
Galaxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 07:01 AM   #3
wallymeister
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wallymeister is on a distinguished road
Question Re: Rich Text in Memo Field- Question

Thanks Galaxiom for your reply
Question?
Is there a way to use Rich Text Memo fields FORMAT property to automaticaly format the data that is entered or changed along the way.

Here is a more real world situation that I have.
PartNo field holds "HM54ZK001" text. I want Memo field to hold "HM54ZK001"

So my thinking is this... when I change PartNo field in my edit form to say "HM66ZK002", I want to have code in OnChange event to also change data in Memo field while keeping the formatting the same. Could I have some html in format property of memo field or call a function that will use string functions to break it apart and concatenate back together using html code. All of my real world data will always be 2 characters(HM) + 2 characters(54) + 2 characters(ZK) + 3 characters(001).
Is this kind of where you was pointing me?

wallymeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 08:08 AM   #4
wallymeister
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wallymeister is on a distinguished road
Post Re: Rich Text in Memo Field- Question

Galaxiom
I don't know what happened here but I thought you were replying to my question but I see now that I got something screwed up. Too many windows open at once I suspect.
wallymeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 02:24 PM   #5
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,330
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,669 Times in 3,537 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Rich Text in Memo Field- Question

Quote:
Consider storing the field as plain text and applying the function in the Control Source of the textbox rather than storing the formatting information in every record
Not sure you can do this for bound controls where the controlsource is plain text.

Not tested but I think it would work if you have an unbound control with code to assign the value of the field and adding the formatting as part of the assignment - OK for single forms but not continuous forms - and you would need code to apply the formatting anyway so it would only be a small amount of additional code (and additional code to update the field after editing)

__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Array to transfer field data from linked table? geekhunter Modules & VBA 1 10-09-2008 12:27 AM
Add XML tags to selected text in memo field located in a subform with command button harleyskater Modules & VBA 2 03-26-2008 02:55 AM
inserting a Text in to a memo field GaryPanic General 1 11-08-2005 11:05 AM
If text does not fit in visible area of memo field jastek Forms 2 08-03-2004 05:37 PM
Creating an "History" field Stephenn Forms 2 03-19-2002 04:05 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World