Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2017, 07:49 AM   #1
Kaloyanides
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kaloyanides is on a distinguished road
Copy Data from One Subform to another Subform.

I'm sure this been asked/answered many times before but I can't seem to find the answer.

I have an order Entry Screen. The Invoice Number is not issued or finalized until the user clicks "Issue Invoice" after all of the items have been entered.

On the Order Entry Screen I have two subforms. One is for the actual order (items) and the other shows all of the items the customer has purchased in the past. It would be great if the user could click the button next to each previously ordered item and have that item auto populate into the order entry subform. Add the item and then setfocus to the items QTY field.

frmSalesOrdersSUBitems - Order
qrySalesInvoiceItems
frmSalesOrdersSUBTemplate - Previously Purchased Items
qryCustomerTemplates

If anyone can help, I'd be very grateful!

Thanks!

Kaloyanides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 07:09 PM   #2
HiTechCoach
Newly Registered User
 
HiTechCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 4,254
Thanks: 8
Thanked 156 Times in 144 Posts
HiTechCoach is a jewel in the rough HiTechCoach is a jewel in the rough HiTechCoach is a jewel in the rough HiTechCoach is a jewel in the rough
Re: Copy Data from One Subform to another Subform.

I do the same and similar things now in my Accounting systems.

There as tow way=s I do it.

1) Use an append query. Great for copying records.

2) Use a recordset. Great for duplicating a record(s) and the related child records.

For your example, the way I do it is with a popup form. This displays the item along with any controls the user can change, like quantity. When the user clicks "Save" it runs the append query to add the record.
__________________
Boyd Trimmell
Specializing in Accounting, CRM, and Business solutions
Microsoft Access MVP 2010-2015 , aka
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HiTechCoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 08:26 AM   #3
Kaloyanides
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kaloyanides is on a distinguished road
Re: Copy Data from One Subform to another Subform.

Hi, I came across this post regarding copying records from one subform to another using a popup window (to enter qty) and an append query. Would you by any chance have an example of this? I'm so so with access/vba and this is something I've struggled with. Very little help online regarding this. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thx.

Kaloyanides is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
add , copy , insert , subform

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy data from one subform to another nomax Forms 9 03-07-2016 04:56 AM
copy data from one subform to another subform pirseinkim Forms 12 12-15-2015 01:47 PM
Copy subform data remuremmi Modules & VBA 7 02-03-2013 04:18 PM
Copy data from subform to a new table p.anat Forms 2 08-13-2012 10:52 AM
Copy field data to subform? erkerns Forms 8 06-14-2003 04:42 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World