Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 10:52 AM   #16
theDBguy
Im here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,259 Times in 1,240 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Relationships question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fira_g View Post
I got it, thank you.

One more question regarding the frmFromTo from the file attached.

The source for the From and To is a query that concatenates few field.
When choosing the location it shows ID along with the address, but when selected it displays the ID only.
How can i configure it to show the full address from the combobox?
In my copy of frmFromTo, I don't see any dropdown controls. If you're talking about using a Combobox to select the From and To locations, you can adjust the following properties appropriately: Bound Column, Column Count, Column Widths. After making a selection from the dropdown, the combo can only display the first visible column from the Row Source property. If you want to also display other columns on the same form, you can use unbound textboxes and then use the Column() property to refer to the other columns of the combobox.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 10:58 AM   #17
Fira_g
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 32
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fira_g is on a distinguished road
Re: Relationships question

Attached the file I was referring to.
Attached Files
File Type: zip testrelate.zip (81.9 KB, 5 views)
Fira_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:17 PM   #18
Fira_g
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 32
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fira_g is on a distinguished road
Re: Relationships question

Still no luck to get the combobox to display the location instead of the ID only.
I am using a query that concatenates the address, city and stat in to one string, as a row source.

I apologies if my questions sound dumb, i just started learning

Fira_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:28 PM   #19
theDBguy
Im here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,259 Times in 1,240 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Relationships question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fira_g View Post
Still no luck to get the combobox to display the location instead of the ID only.
I am using a query that concatenates the address, city and stat in to one string, as a row source.

I apologies if my questions sound dumb, i just started learning
Check out the attached...
Attached Files
File Type: zip testrelate.zip (37.7 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:46 PM   #20
Fira_g
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 32
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fira_g is on a distinguished road
Re: Relationships question

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Check out the attached...
Thank you very much.

So it I need to set the Column Width to 0";2" or 0";1"
Fira_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:47 PM   #21
theDBguy
Im here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,259 Times in 1,240 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Relationships question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fira_g View Post
Thank you very much.

So it I need to set the Column Width to 0";2" or 0";1"
Yes, that's what I was trying to say earlier. You can play with those properties to see what happens. If you're not clear what each property does, you can search the Help files or hit F1.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Fira_g (10-21-2019)
Old 10-21-2019, 07:53 PM   #22
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,540
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,679 Times in 1,559 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Relationships question

Also be aware that when playing with column widths, there is another property to consider - the actual width of the control can change when it is in focus vs. not in focus. The combo's .Width is the NOT IN FOCUS width but the sum of the column widths that you are discussing with theDBguy can be different and the sum of those widths is what you see when the combo is in focus, i.e. drop-down list is showing. This can lead to confusing situations, so if you see this, you've been warned about it.

__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to The_Doc_Man For This Useful Post:
Fira_g (10-22-2019)
Old 10-22-2019, 07:15 AM   #23
Fira_g
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 32
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fira_g is on a distinguished road
Re: Relationships question

I will surely note that down for future reference.

Fira_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Relationships 1-to-Many or 1-to-1 DiogoCuba Theory and practice of database design 27 04-13-2019 08:11 PM
Relationships Question nstratton General 12 01-04-2019 02:49 PM
Question about Relationships Djblois Tables 3 06-12-2009 10:12 PM
Yet another relationships question XQuestion Tables 5 09-09-2005 10:38 AM
Relationships Question SaraMegan Tables 13 08-23-2002 05:35 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World