Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2008, 10:07 AM   #1
Mike_In_Ga
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mike_In_Ga is on a distinguished road
Is this ODBC Connection possible?

I am rather new to Access so please forgive if this question is simplistic. I have a new client for whom I am writing some queries for. The source Db is ISAM. I installed a USQL license, created a DSN, and pulled the data into Access via ODBC linked tables.

I only have time to go out to the client about once a month so while I am developing off-site what I did was use make table queries so I had the data on my local machine. The problem is there are some linked tables in the Db I now need where I did not create a "hard" table via make table query.

The Access Db resides on my local machine. The DSN is defined on my local machine. When I am at the client I connect to the network and the DSN works fine to open up the linked tables. I can connect to the client via remote desktop, however I have no idea how to get the DSN to work from my local machine while I am on their network via remote desktop.

Any ideas?

Mike_In_Ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:16 AM   #2
Banana
split with a cherry atop.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,315
Thanks: 0
Thanked 90 Times in 72 Posts
Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all
You need to copy the DSN and place it on the client's machine. I never had to copy a DSN, instead preferring to use a DSN-less connection. Google this for a sample code.
__________________
If relation-valued attributes and arbitrarily complex types are wrong, then I don't wanna to be right!
Founder of 'Blame the Developers First' crowd.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:18 AM   #3
Mike_In_Ga
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mike_In_Ga is on a distinguished road
Where do I put the DSN ont he clients machine? Access is not installed on the clients machine (they dont want to pay for the license)......sorry I should have been more clear......what I am trying to do is remote desktop into the client, run Access from my local machine and be able to get to the data on the clients machine using the DSN defined on my machine.

Mike_In_Ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:19 AM   #4
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,277
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,110 Times in 4,042 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
I think to get the DSN on your machine to work you would have to VPN into their network from your machine. If you connect with RDP, you are basically connecting to a machine that is on the network, not on the network yourself. In that scenario you could connect on that machine and create your tables, then transfer them to your PC via email or file transfer.
__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:32 AM   #5
Mike_In_Ga
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mike_In_Ga is on a distinguished road
Thaks Pbaldy....thats the issue I am having b/c the machine I connect to via RDP doesnt have MS Access installed, so there is no way for me to connect to the Db. Alsa, if the ERP was on SQL I could get to it but since it ISAM the only way I can connect is via Access. I thought there might be a way for the DSN on my local machine to "jump" onto the network via the RDP connection but it looks like I am SOL and have to drive down there.
Mike_In_Ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:38 AM   #6
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,277
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,110 Times in 4,042 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
If you can VPN into their network, you should be able to get the DSN to work remotely. I have remote users that VPN into our network and run Access programs connected to SQL Server.
__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 11:21 AM   #7
Mike_In_Ga
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mike_In_Ga is on a distinguished road
Well, to do that I'd have to bust into Routing and Remote Access. It is already configured and I'd have to disable it first in order to set up incoming VPN on the server. Thier OS is Small Business Server. This is far outside my expertise. Im a BI guy that is doing a one off Access project. Having me go through the guts of SBS is an accident waiting to happen!


Mike_In_Ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginner's Guide to managing ODBC Datasources. Banana General 4 11-27-2007 11:41 AM
Microsoft Access ODBC AS400 Connection hiker8117 SQL Server 4 03-10-2007 07:46 AM
Querydef ODBC connection problem jonomac Modules & VBA 0 08-09-2005 06:26 AM
ODBC Connection peggypph General 1 07-02-2004 03:30 AM
How to 'grab' the ODBC connection used by linked tables DanR General 5 04-13-2004 07:52 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World