Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

Old 05-27-2008, 10:07 AM   #1
Mike_In_Ga

Mike_In_Ga is on a distinguished road
Is this ODBC Connection possible?

I am rather new to Access so please forgive if this question is simplistic. I have a new client for whom I am writing some queries for. The source Db is ISAM. I installed a USQL license, created a DSN, and pulled the data into Access via ODBC linked tables.

I only have time to go out to the client about once a month so while I am developing off-site what I did was use make table queries so I had the data on my local machine. The problem is there are some linked tables in the Db I now need where I did not create a "hard" table via make table query.

The Access Db resides on my local machine. The DSN is defined on my local machine. When I am at the client I connect to the network and the DSN works fine to open up the linked tables. I can connect to the client via remote desktop, however I have no idea how to get the DSN to work from my local machine while I am on their network via remote desktop.

Any ideas?

Mike_In_Ga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:16 AM   #2
Banana
split with a cherry atop.

Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all Banana is a name known to all
You need to copy the DSN and place it on the client's machine. I never had to copy a DSN, instead preferring to use a DSN-less connection. Google this for a sample code.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:18 AM   #3
Mike_In_Ga