Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

Old 10-25-2019, 07:49 PM   #1
jimbo92
Newly Registered User

jimbo92 is on a distinguished road
Need "Select All Option" in Combobox for Query Parameters

I've seen this question posted elsewhere, but I can't make any of the answers work (I'm a beginner with Access).

I have a combobox that lets you select an employee, which gives the selected employee name as the parameter for a query. I want to have a "Select All" option in the combobox that tells the query to use all employees. This is my current Row Source code for the combobox:

SELECT [Employee Directory].[ID], [Employee Directory].[Employee Name] FROM [Employee Directory] ORDER BY [Employee Name];

I've tried a couple different solutions from other threads--including adding UNION--but can't make it work. I also don't know if code needs to be added elsewhere as well. How do I make this work?

jimbo92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 08:51 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help

Thanked 1,408 Times in 1,389 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Need "Select All Option" in Combobox for Query Parameters

Hi. Welcome to AWF! Yes, a UNION query is usually the correct approach for this. But if you're not sure how to implement it, then the simplest approach is to leave the control empty to represent a Select All choice.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 08:53 PM   #3
Micron
AWF VIP

Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about