Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2019, 11:06 AM   #1
Punice
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 43
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Punice is on a distinguished road
Subreport missing column heading

I have a report that displays correctly. as a single report. When I use the subreport wizard or drag the 'good' report onto the body of the main report,
all fields display correctly, except the column header for the subreport is missing.
Here is where the wizard placed the subreport:
Subreport title: Report Header
Column Header: Page Header
Nothing in the next two report lables: T_ID & F_SerNo Header
and the data from the query under the 'Detail' separator.

I tested other combinations of element locations, as well as, various links.

Spent a week trying to solve this problem. That's why I'm back here, again.

Punice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 11:09 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,612
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,053 Times in 1,034 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Subreport missing column heading

Hi. If you go to the Design View of your Report and select the SubReport control, what do you have in the "Show Page Header and Page Footer" property? If No, try setting it to Yes.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Punice (10-04-2019)
Old 10-03-2019, 11:14 AM   #3
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,401
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,588 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Subreport missing column heading

on your subreport, create a Group.

group on Expression: =""

move the column header labels to the Group Header.
adjust the labels properly.

on the Group's Property->Sheet

Repeat Section: Yes

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"

Last edited by arnelgp; 10-03-2019 at 11:23 AM.
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 10:20 AM   #4
Punice
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 43
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Punice is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Subreport missing column heading

The two 'show' items were already enabled.
Thanks for drawing my attention to their existence helping me learn some more about this great program.
Punice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 10:23 AM   #5
Punice
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 43
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Punice is on a distinguished road
Re: Subreport missing column heading

didn't fully understand 'arnelgo's reply. However, I'll try tomorrow. I just came from an eye exam and my eyes are still dialated. Can't focus.
Punice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 06:00 PM   #6
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,401
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,588 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Subreport missing column heading

it simply means creating a Group on the the subreport and moving all your Labels/images from page header/report header to the Group Header section.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 04:52 AM   #7
Punice
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Middletown, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks: 43
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Punice is on a distinguished road
Re: Subreport missing column heading

Yep, that was what you said. I understand. I'll give it a try, today. Thanks for your response.

Punice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 08:00 PM   #8
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,149
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,494 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: Subreport missing column heading

A further clarification of arnel's suggestion.

Subreports don't print page headers and footers. Only the main report prints page headers and footers. Think about the confusion if the main report and the three subreports were all competing to control when a page header or footer would be printed.

Therefore, if you need headers for the subreport (and almost all will), the simplest solution is to ad a group option and put them in the group header. The grouping occurs WITHIN a subreport and therfore would never affect the main report or any other subreport. Sometimes, you can get away with putting the column headers for the subreport on the parent report just above the subreport control but it is really difficult to get the alignment correct so the group header in the subreport is the clear winner.

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuration , information , missing , subreport

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Set record column as a heading Lochwood Reports 2 03-04-2019 03:55 AM
[SOLVED] Subreport group heading repeats after every record jdankovchik Reports 1 04-02-2015 08:44 AM
Code to use first row as column heading eaglesparadise Macros 1 09-19-2008 09:02 AM
Subreport Heading Problem Saurabhk Reports 3 11-09-2006 06:14 PM
[SOLVED] Column Heading of MAX Value ablazes Queries 2 02-22-2005 12:17 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World