Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Modules & VBA

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2019, 03:07 PM   #16
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by learner2019 View Post
My sincere apologies. What happens is in the .mbd file I am attempting to open. The only macro I can view is a ďAutoExecĒ one, but I know that before, when I used to be able to login, when I did successfully login, I would be able to view 7 other macros associated with the work book. When I am importing everything into a new database, I do receive error messages for 3 modules that I am attempting to import. It is a module name modSecurity. The error is stating, ďName conflicts with existing module, project, or object libraryĒ. So those three modules, I feel like have something to do with that login form I cannot do anything with. Under macros tab when importing, all I see is that one autoexec macro, nothing else. Do you think that someone wrote VBA to hide the macros until the login form has been logged into?
Hi. Do you know if the MDB file has the Shift Bypass Key disabled?

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 03:09 PM   #17
learner2019
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
learner2019 is on a distinguished road
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Hi. Do you know if the MDB file has the Shift Bypass Key disabled?
If I hold down shift and then open the database....how would I be able to tell if it worked?
learner2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 03:20 PM   #18
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,984
Thanks: 120
Thanked 3,332 Times in 3,006 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

If the shift key is enabled, holding it down will bypass all startup code
If its disabled, holding down the Shift key will have no effect.

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Spam, spam, spam, spam, spam, spam, spam
He's not the Messiah. He's a very naughty boy : Monty Python - The Life of Brian (Terry Jones - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 03:26 PM   #19
learner2019
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
learner2019 is on a distinguished road
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
If the shift key is enabled, holding it down will bypass all startup code
If its disabled, holding down the Shift key will have no effect.
It looks like they have it disables, because it does the same thing. I found something although....I have an older backup of this database and when I try importing the same security module it works. When I try to import that same module from the newest one (the one I am having issues with) I get that error I mentioned about name conflicts with existing module.
learner2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 04:05 PM   #20
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by learner2019 View Post
It looks like they have it disables, because it does the same thing. I found something although....I have an older backup of this database and when I try importing the same security module it works. When I try to import that same module from the newest one (the one I am having issues with) I get that error I mentioned about name conflicts with existing module.
Are you importing to a new blank database?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 04:45 PM   #21
learner2019
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
learner2019 is on a distinguished road
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Are you importing to a new blank database?
Yes that is correct. The only thing is when importing the older backup of the database, when I try logging in after importing, it says I am missing a table named tblSecurity, but I donít see that table listed under tables or queries. Do you think I should open the database I am having issues with and import the ďsecurity moduleĒ from the backup into the database I am having issues with and then rename that module because Iím sure if you import a module or whatever with the same name, it will append a ď1Ē to the name. Would that work? I saw when I opened this module that the buttonclick() macro calls this module. Maybe something with the module is not executing? I also want to let you know this all happened when we upgraded in Microsoft Office to the latest service pack....could that have anything to do with it? The issues started right after we upgraded. We are using Office 365 professional.
learner2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:50 PM   #22
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

So, If you can import into a new blank database, then the shift bypass key should be enabled on it. Have you tried opening the new imported db while holding down the shift key. You can also try to import all that you can and see what happens.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 06:09 PM   #23
learner2019
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
learner2019 is on a distinguished road
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
So, If you can import into a new blank database, then the shift bypass key should be enabled on it. Have you tried opening the new imported db while holding down the shift key. You can also try to import all that you can and see what happens.
Iím going to try that when I go in to work tomorrow. Would you anyway that whoever the creator of this was, could hide a table? I got that error message saying that tblSecurity couldnít be found. This is not possible is it?
learner2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 06:19 PM   #24
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 15,103
Thanks: 103
Thanked 1,897 Times in 1,731 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Do you think that someone wrote VBA to hide the macros until the login form has been logged into?
Which version of Access are you using NOW to work on this? Your answer will tell me what I need to know to answer your question definitively.

I know you said these are .MDB files, but the only thing that would or could have blocked macros from importing is something called User Level Security, and that is a fully-deprecated (i.e. no longer in use) feature. So ULS can't be your culprit unless you are still using a version of Access commensurate with the one used to create the .MDB file. If you are using Access later than Ac97, ULS absolutely won't work.

Quote:
My sincere apologies
Don't worry about it. We are quite accustomed to having to reframe questions because our newest people don't yet feel comfortable with Access and don't fully "speak the language." Do NOT fret. Just understand that we might have to ask questions in a way that is somewhat alien to you. But trust me, I'm not green, don't live in Area 51, and don't have big slanted-almond shaped dark eyes.

Quote:
I know that before, when I used to be able to login, when I did successfully login, I would be able to view 7 other macros
If you remember 7 macros but can only see one, you almost certainly have a corrupted file. That bit about three modules causing naming conflicts is further indication of corruption if it does that when you try to import into a new, empty .MDB file. The corruption probably occurred at about the same time that the buttons stopped working.

Do you have an older backup of that file originating from before the buttons went wacky? Because your problem sounds like it will be unrecoverable from that file alone. (I could be wrong... but I don't think I am.)

If you have older backups, you might be able to piece this app together again by selectively extracting the missing macros from older files and getting the data from the newer file. The "Import DB" dialog IS capable of being selective, so you might be able to do what you need with a good backup as the source for whatever you cannot retrieve from the new file.

BTW - if I am slow to respond sometimes, it is because right now my wife and I have grandson duty. It's a long story but the bottom line is, he is a handful sometimes. Great kid, smart and friendly, growing like a bloody weed - but sometimes a handful. Don't take my sluggish response personally.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 06:38 PM   #25
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Quote:
Originally Posted by learner2019 View Post
Iím going to try that when I go in to work tomorrow. Would you anyway that whoever the creator of this was, could hide a table? I got that error message saying that tblSecurity couldnít be found. This is not possible is it?
Hi. Yes, it's possible to sort of hide tables to detract potential unauthorized access to them.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 08:09 PM   #26
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 15,103
Thanks: 103
Thanked 1,897 Times in 1,731 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Our friend Isladogs is the expert on hiding things. It is possible to hide tables in various ways. But on an old MDB that you are importing to a fresh MDB, the odds are very low that someone has done that. Not zero, but very low.

Again, it is possible that the file has become corrupt. An older backup copy would be really useful. Otherwise this might be a lost cause unless you can identify and locate the app's creator.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 08:16 PM   #27
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,294
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,640 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Event Buttons Not Working All of a Sudden

Or, if you can provide us with a copy of your db, we might be able to give you a hand with it.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access , modules & vba , vba

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Sudden Change in Event Behavior? Frothingslosh Modules & VBA 17 11-10-2018 09:57 AM
Which event 'triggers' when I use the navigation buttons ? liamfitz Forms 3 05-18-2012 11:54 PM
Add Part Number sudden not working Hope Forms 9 04-02-2008 10:07 AM
Click event/buttons stopped working neilwebber General 0 07-23-2007 02:13 AM
Event - Next and Previous buttons K0k1man Modules & VBA 2 05-22-2007 06:57 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World