Access Database Design Problem. (1 Viewer)

NewSkool

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:13
Hello, I must say that I am not very experienced with Access.. hence why I most likely have ran into this problem. However I did try to read manuals and tutorials to get me through it. (Failed :) ) Hopefully somebody from these forums can help.

The database that I am trying to create is for a Door-to-Door marketing company. They have many employees(Reps) that are organized in teams(With team leaders). Moreover they sell more than one product. (SKY Television, 3G Contract Phones, 02 Contract Phones, BT Lines etc...) Hence what I tried doing is:

1. Create a common customer database M_Customers (At first I tried to what I think is "normalization", so I had C_Address and C_Bank_Details) but that lead me to some problems. This M_Customers table has all the needed information for all the products. (However some information is not needed for some of the products)

2. Create a common Employees database M_Employees, which lists all employees and their details. (Including Address and Bank Details) Moreover I have created a M_Commission database, to list all the levels of commission for different type of employees (on trial, mid level, top) and for all the different products.

3. Then I went ahead and created Quaries for Q_Phone_Deals and Q_Sky_Deals... but they did not input data into the database. :)mad: "The same record is needed in M_Customers" :mad: ) They linked a M_Customers with C_Phone_Deals and respectively C_Sky_Deals (Those two tables contained information about the phone deal or the sky deal... like "Network" for and "handset type" in C_Phone_Deals and "Install Date" and "Installed - Y/N" in C_Sky_Deals. ) These quaries (I thought) would be the main inputting devices, as they would also have a Employee_ID lookup in order to see who did the sale and then somehow calculate the commision that he or she deserves.