Updating Access Tables from Excel (1 Viewer)

SteveJones

Local time
Today, 07:12
Hi, can someone please help with this?

I have a table for storing details of share prices relating to specific certificate numbers, so only the £ value and the value date changes when we update (done manually at present).

The updates for different companies are done at different times, hence I cannot just delete and import new data, it needs to be an update to a value from an excel sheet (the excell sheet is downloaded from the web provider in question).

I had thought of using "get external data" to create a new or ad to a new table, then an update query to update the main table from the new one, but again cannot seem to get it to work on the specific certificate numbers.

As you can see I have little knowledge on code etc, and have so far only used macros to automate the application we use, can anyone please help???

Thanks in advance!

Steve

ajetrumpet

Banned
Local time
Today, 02:12
Hi, can someone please help with this?

I have a table for storing details of share prices relating to specific certificate numbers, so only the £ value and the value date changes when we update (done manually at present).

The updates for different companies are done at different times, hence I cannot just delete and import new data, it needs to be an update to a value from an excel sheet (the excell sheet is downloaded from the web provider in question).

I had thought of using "get external data" to create a new or ad to a new table, then an update query to update the main table from the new one, but again cannot seem to get it to work on the specific certificate numbers.

As you can see I have little knowledge on code etc, and have so far only used macros to automate the application we use, can anyone please help???

Thanks in advance!

Steve
Steve,